Crossfire Coupe A place to discuss Coupe specific topics.

Why the weather woes?

Old 12-04-2006, 01:57 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why the weather woes?

I'm a relative newbie, having my Alabaster White Limited 6 speed for about 5 months. I traded in my '03 Passat (liked that car, but not as much as my '98 Volvo S70), so it is my daily commute car. I put about 100 miles a day over a variety of roads in NW New Jersey and get a solid 25 mpg (and haven't noticed any performance difference between regular or premium).

I read that a lot of people will only drive their CF on clear, sunny days -- no drizzle or rain for them. I know this isn't a snow car, and don't plan to drive when the roads are white, but I've driven it through mist and pouring rain. The thing is very water tight and has handled great in the wet, including country roads slickened with leaves. The traction control seems to do a great job keeping it on the straight and narrow.

So, why the do some people have the apprehension to take the CF out and have a little fun driving when the weather is a challenge? I know it's not an AWD off roader, but it seems to, at least for me, handle most of the elements well. And considering we're talking about a $20k - something sports car, NOT a six-figure Euro exotic, why not let it see the seasons?

Just curious...

Old 12-04-2006, 02:21 PM
Forum Regular
Default Re: Why the weather woes?

I have driven it in Rain. I must say it did very well. Did not slip any.

Snow is a different story. It is a RWD and RWD's do not do well in snow from what i hear. Plus I have the PS2's and not going to install Winter or all season tires on it. So I will not drive it when it snows (risky but possible). I will drive my other car then (I prefer not to call it a beater).

Old 12-04-2006, 02:39 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by MartinB1217