CrossfireForum.org
Loading
 
- CLICK HERE TO GET RID OF THESE ADS -
Go Back   CrossfireForum.org > Cars > Crossfire Coupe

Welcome to Crossfire Forum!
Welcome to Crossfire Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please
join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2011, 09:19 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 28
Default Rough Idle at stops


I recently purchased a 2004 coupe. When I stop at stoplights or intersections the idle drops to 500rpm and the car is slightly rough at idle. As soon as it turns green and I accelerate there are no issues. I actually called the dealer who services the car before I bought it and he said that it is normal for the crossfire. It lowers the idle at stop and then resets after you accelerate. Anyone else have this with their car?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2011, 09:25 PM
Ottawa John's Avatar
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Richmond, Ont.
Posts: 484
Default Re: Rough Idle at stops


Do you have an AT or stick? I have a stick, and have noticed a couple of times mine idling a little rough & rich when backing in to the gargae, but it has come back up too. I haven't noticed it doing this at a light (but that doesn't mean that it hasn't).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2011, 09:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 13,888
Default Re: Rough Idle at stops


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyperman
I recently purchased a 2004 coupe. When I stop at stoplights or intersections the idle drops to 500rpm and the car is slightly rough at idle. As soon as it turns green and I accelerate there are no issues. I actually called the dealer who services the car before I bought it and he said that it is normal for the crossfire. It lowers the idle at stop and then resets after you accelerate. Anyone else have this with their car?
Your dealer gave you what they all give their customers for free, a lie.
Mine idles at about 500 to 600 rpm but it is smooth. maybe you have a vacuum leak somewhere.



Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2011, 09:33 PM
oledoc2u's Avatar
Retired LEO
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IN
Age: 61
Posts: 14,223
Default Re: Rough Idle at stops


vacuum leak, dirty map sensor, even dirty air filters...start lookin'


'05 Black Xfire #59312 SRT6 Roadster
'05 Blue xfire #42796 SRT6 Coupe
Both cars have the following mods:
Needswings Dual CAI, catch can, PSK, coupe has Needswings mani's, roadster has 180's manis, Eurocharged tuning, wavetrac, high performance brake fluid, metal lines, and upgraded ceramic brakes. Roadster has a Code 3 65mm S/C pulley, Coupe has a Karmann 62mm S/C pulley. Both cars run summer compound tires.


Doc Holliday
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2011, 12:06 AM
tighed1's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sierra Vista, Arizona
Age: 57
Posts: 5,233
Default Re: Rough Idle at stops


x3

Jumping on the vacuum leak bandwagon.


Roadster with a Coupe and a Coupe!

Triple your pleasure!
SRT Roadster and SRT Coupe and 6spd NA Coupe (1st BEGi Turbo XF)
332HP & 349ft-lbs and 350HP & 464ft-lbs and not enough, yet!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2011, 12:11 AM
Franc Rauscher's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St Louis MO
Posts: 12,675
Default Re: Rough Idle at stops


Or, it could be a loose air intake tube.... After market CAI?

Airflow over the Map sensor is everything with these cars.



I am going to hang a Batman Costume in my closet. .......... Just to screw with myself when I get Alzheimer's.


SSB roadster with a stick & Aero blue coupe SRT trying to keep up.
powered by Eurocharged Performance Inc.

Last edited by Franc Rauscher; 06-30-2011 at 12:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2011, 01:28 AM
blwnstang02's Avatar  
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Olathe, KS
Age: 27
Posts: 99
Default Re: Rough Idle at stops


Try some fuel system cleaner. Also you are running premium?



'05 Limited 6 speed
KS-Member
-8k HID's heads and fog's
-led's
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2011, 07:35 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wimauma, FL
Posts: 44
Default Re: Rough Idle at stops


I also have 2004 Coupe. Mine has done that sevral times. It has even stalled out a couple of time at the light. Once the check engine light came on the went off the next day. I took it ot the dealer for a check and they are replacing the Mass Air FLow Sensor and MAP Sensor. It was throwing P0175 and P0172 codes. Parts will be in on Tuesday. I will report back when parts are replaced
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2011, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,861
Default Re: Rough Idle at stops


Rough idles are common on our cars. I have experienced it myself. But it all depends on how rough the idle is. If it is really rough (which I experienced while driving a demo back in 2005) then it is a vaccum line (which the dealer ended up fixing). But I have experienced an occasional stutter while sitting at a light. Never stalled or felt like it would.

Our cars are very unique... sometimes you notice engine noises. Sometimes you will hear a ticking from the engine. Lets face it.... they are noisy Mercedes. That is what makes our cars so special and unique. If you want a car that runs so smooth and quiet that you can't even tell if it is running then buy a Lexus.

Last edited by blackcrossfire07; 06-30-2011 at 09:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2011, 11:44 AM
LantanaTX's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lantana, Republic of Texas
Age: 55
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Rough Idle at stops


Check for a vacum leak first and then get a spray can of brake parts cleaner and remove the MAF sensor and clean it. A rough dropping idle when you come to a stop or stall is the first sign of the CPS going bad.


Sold North America's First V8 Crossfire - New Project 1989 Lotus Esprit Turbo to be powered by Ford DOHC 5.0 Coyote V8
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2011, 02:56 PM
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Virginia
Age: 32
Posts: 716
Default Re: Rough Idle at stops


My 04 had been fluctuating more than usual while stopped and would randomly turn CEL on/off. Pulled engine cover off, took filters out and wiped everything down with a microfiber. Intake tubes as well. There was a lot of dust build up at the tube connections and a couple leaves/bugs laying up by the filter. Shook the filters out and put everything back together. Acting much better and *** dyno says it's pulling slightly harder in mid range but that could just be in my head engine light went off right after doing it though. 10min job might be worth a shot


04 Black Coupe (MT) Crunched
Engine // 74mm TB // Mercedes V8 Airbox //
Handling // Koni shocks // Eibach springs // K-MAC front bushings // MikeR(RIP) Camber arms + Sway links //
Wheels // Mandrus Wilhelm (18x8.5 - 19x9.5) // Hankook Ventus V12 (235/40 285/30) //
Sound // Alpine X305 w iPod hookup in console // 4 Channel Amp Mod //
Looks // Mopar Rear Diffuser // Painted Grille // Black Console Conversion // Euro Side Markers (Smoked)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2011, 09:23 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 28
Default Re: Rough Idle at stops


Thank you for all the suggestions. The car has an AT transmission and stock air cleaner. I changed the filters when I first bought the car a month ago. It idled quite rough and the filters were trashed. I put in K&N filters and it was 100% better. I took off the cover tonight and cleaned it. I checked most of the vacuum lines I could see visually and saw nothing loose or cracked. Not sure if there is any other way to check them? Tomorrow I will check the MAF sensor. Let me say that I could just be over the top on my expectations because the car does not stall, it just has a slight rough idle at stop lights. It does not seem to respond instantly if the car is in D from stop. However it is much better if I start out in 1st gear and shift through them. I appreciate everyone's time and suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2011, 09:29 PM
Franc Rauscher's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St Louis MO
Posts: 12,675
Default Re: Rough Idle at stops


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyperman
Thank you for all the suggestions. The car has an AT transmission and stock air cleaner. I changed the filters when I first bought the car a month ago. It idled quite rough and the filters were trashed. I put in K&N filters and it was 100% better. I took off the cover tonight and cleaned it. I checked most of the vacuum lines I could see visually and saw nothing loose or cracked. Not sure if there is any other way to check them? Tomorrow I will check the MAF sensor. Let me say that I could just be over the top on my expectations because the car does not stall, it just has a slight rough idle at stop lights. It does not seem to respond instantly if the car is in D from stop. However it is much better if I start out in 1st gear and shift through them. I appreciate everyone's time and suggestions.
Do a throttle reset. Turn the ignition on but don't start the car.
Depress the fuel throttle and hold to the floor for five seconds
Release the throttle and turn the ignition off but leave the keys in it.
Let it sit for at least two minutes.

Now, start the car. Reset complete.

It should eliminate that hesitation. At least back to factory performance.


Next, Get a Sprint Booster.

I'll bet this is happening during warm weather with you AC on? And I'll bet this is your first wireless throttle.



I am going to hang a Batman Costume in my closet. .......... Just to screw with myself when I get Alzheimer's.


SSB roadster with a stick & Aero blue coupe SRT trying to keep up.
powered by Eurocharged Performance Inc.

Last edited by Franc Rauscher; 06-30-2011 at 09:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2011, 09:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 13,888
Default Re: Rough Idle at stops


Quote:
Originally Posted by Franc Rauscher
Do a throttle reset. Turn the ignition on but don't start the car.
Depress the fuel throttle and hold to the floor for five seconds
Release the throttle and turn the ignition off but leave the keys in it.
Let it sit for at least two minutes.

Now, start the car. Reset complete.

It should eliminate that hesitation. At least back to factory performance.


Next, Get a Sprint Booster.

I'll bet this is happening during warm weather with you AC on? And I'll bet this is your first wireless throttle.
This throttle uses wires, it is cable less though.



Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2011, 10:08 PM
Franc Rauscher's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St Louis MO
Posts: 12,675
Default Re: Rough Idle at stops


Quote:
Originally Posted by onehundred80
This throttle uses wires, it is cable less though.
your right, a oft made mistake when describing the disconnected throttle connection.

Somewhere in the little Black Module CPU is a canister of black smoke. It is how these mystical electronic things work. I know because whenever the black smoke escapes, they stop working.

My sub mental assertion is, therefore, that wires have nothing to do with it.

I have proven this theory on several occasions.



I am going to hang a Batman Costume in my closet. .......... Just to screw with myself when I get Alzheimer's.


SSB roadster with a stick & Aero blue coupe SRT trying to keep up.
powered by Eurocharged Performance Inc.
Reply With Quote
 
Old 06-30-2011, 10:08 PM
Advertisement
Default Re: Rough Idle at stops


 
 
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:12 PM.