Crossfire Coupe A place to discuss Coupe specific topics.

Touch-Up Question Re: rockchip marks on xfire :(

Old 08-28-2004, 01:31 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Touch-Up Question Re: rockchip marks on xfire :(

We have had our red xfire for two months and are sick about having to already repair two paint scuffs left from a rock thrown from an oncoming semi

We picked up a tube of the right color from the dealership for the repair-- as a professional artist, I have a steady hand and am used to paints (just not used to painting on cars, i.e. my new red xfire!) So, obviously I want to do this "right". I have been told to just be sure I don't "bubble" the paint. Does anyone else have any advice towards a successful touch-up paint job?

Also, we are considering a bra to avoid this in the future, but would appreciate your opinions on this too. Thanks for your responses!

Old 08-28-2004, 02:22 PM
Forum Regular

This is a question I would like an answer to. I got my mopar touch up paint last month and tried touching up the chips on the passenger door but it LOOKS LIKE I DID IT (which is not good).

Old 08-28-2004, 02:45 PM
Old 08-28-2004, 03:01 PM

I had a paint chip on my left front fender. I have a Black car so the white really showed ( about 1/16" ) When I went to see my service advisor, he told me that nothing will avoid the touch up look if I use the touch up paint. He took me to the paint shop, whispered something into the mgrs ear, and was told to come back in the morning. They complletely repainted the fender and put it under warranty saying it was "paint spidering". Car looks brand new. I am sure this was a one time courtesy.

Old 08-28-2004, 06:08 PM
Administrator
-C-I-C-C-I Associate Member
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

Originally Posted by dadof4
i use this product and love it.

Old 08-28-2004, 11:27 PM

While this will not fix chips, it will prevent future ones. try getting 3M clearbra or stoneguard. lots of people swear by it.