Engine, Exhaust, Transmission and Differential Post questions here that have to do with the engine, cooling system, air intake, exhaust, Transmission and Differential

Muffler Question?

Old 02-21-2015, 05:54 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Muffler Question?

Hello everyone,

I have been on these forums looking around for some time, but never posted that many threads. I am really new to all this stuff. Which being said, I am sorry if I posted this in the wrong section.

I love cars, and love my Crossfire, but while I love cars I do not know too much about them. I know more less of the basics but nothing like most of you.

So I am need of some help badly.

I am wanting my Crossfire which is a 2006 Crossfire Limited Automatic to make a very nice sound that I wanted for some time. I am more of a sporty type of car dude, and prefer the noise that sport cars make. I don't wanted something that sounds like a big truck. I want something that sounds luxurious and sporty. It would be really cool if it could make the sound when I turn the key and start the engine, the noise makes a cool start up noise aswell.

I saw two videos of Crossfire's with mufflers which I quite like the noise off (posted below). I am not sure if they have a exhaust with the muffler or just the muffler if that is possible? If I only get a muffler would the car be the way I want it to be? I am not looking to spend that much money, which is why I do no want a exhaust. I would rather get the muffler if it does the job I want.

Any help would be so helpful. As said I am new to all this so excuse if these are nooby questions.

Here are the videos:

Old 02-21-2015, 07:43 PM
Default Re: Muffler Question?

I removed the two secondary cats. I like the sound. Its quiet on idle and cruzing on the highway. Its fairly loud when floored. Factory muffler. Don't get that nice sound the Megan has at startup.
I have read here some people get engine drone at highway speeds with aftermarket muffler.