Midwest Forum Serving CO, IA, IL, IN, KS, MI, MN, MO, MT, ND, NE, SD, UT, WI, WY.

Structural Damage

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2014, 01:09 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Structural Damage

Been waiting for the perfect crossfire for a while - finally found one I fell in love with and stupidly purchased w/o prior inspection - drove great and had a clean carfax - during inspection Firestone pointed out what was evidence of previous structural damage in the front wheel well - like it had been hit at some point and time and was repainted w rust underneath the paint - his assessment was in couldn't be fixed because of unibody structure and he also felt it may be unsafe - not sure what next steps to take - I love the car and the dealer isn't going to do anything about it - but is it true that it cant be modified to be structurally sound? Prob a stupid question - but like I said Im a crossfire rookie -

Old 01-20-2014, 01:13 PM
Received 543 Likes on 459 Posts
Default Re: Structural Damage

Originally Posted by sjb2faa
Been waiting for the perfect crossfire for a while - finally found one I fell in love with and stupidly purchased w/o prior inspection - drove great and had a clean carfax - during inspection Firestone pointed out what was evidence of previous structural damage in the front wheel well - like it had been hit at some point and time and was repainted w rust underneath the paint - his assessment was in couldn't be fixed because of unibody structure and he also felt it may be unsafe - not sure what next steps to take - I love the car and the dealer isn't going to do anything about it - but is it true that it cant be modified to be structurally sound? Prob a stupid question - but like I said Im a crossfire rookie -
If it is unsafe then surely the dealer is liable to take back the car. There are plenty around and having the car that is faulty is not wise, the resale value is little and you are expected to name all problems. Good luck.