Other Vehicles The place to talk about watercraft, boats, trains, planes and anything with an engine that isn't a car.

Swirl Marks

Old 04-19-2008, 11:05 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Swirl Marks

My 2007 Harley has the dreaded swirl marks. I bought some Harly swirl remover and rubbed on it for about 30 minutes. Only about 50% of the swirls are gone. I don't want to use a machine on it. Is there a product that I can use by hand that will remove the remainder of these swirls? I am a novice at this stuff.

Old 04-19-2008, 11:41 AM
Banned
Default Re: Swirl Marks

try another 30 minutes and get the other 50%.

Old 04-19-2008, 12:17 PM
Administrator
-C-I-C-C-I Associate Member
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

to remove swirls...the best product is..."plum crazy" by malco... works like a champ and can be applied by hand.

8022_11.jpg

product purchase link: http://www.tcpglobal.com/DetailSuppl...mNo=MAL+114708

Malco Plum Crazy is a premium, silicone-free hand glaze formulated to produce dazzling, high-gloss shines on automotive finishes - especially clear coat - following polishing. This versatile formula can be used by hand or machine; it removes minor scratches and swirl marks.

the real key to a swirl free dark car is...to wash and dry the car in the shade. never in the sun...the uv rays cause the swirls.

Old 04-19-2008, 01:05 PM

Thanks Andrew, when you say swirl marks are caused by UV rays I was surprised. I always attributed the circular swirls to sponge use, incorrect towels etc. What is the mechanism in which UV light causes these swirls?

Last edited by Utah12; 04-19-2008 at 01:13 PM.
Old 04-19-2008, 01:14 PM
Administrator

Originally Posted by Utah12
Thanks Andrew, when you say swirl marks are caused by UV rays I was surprised. I always attributed the circular swirls to sponge use, incorrect towels etc. What is the mechanism in which UV light causes these swirls?