CrossfireForum.org
Loading
 
- CLICK HERE TO GET RID OF THESE ADS -
Go Back   CrossfireForum.org > Technical > Troubleshooting & Technical & Modifications

Welcome to Crossfire Forum!
Welcome to Crossfire Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please
join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2008, 04:39 PM
TVT_DESIGN
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


We just finished up a customer's car (C-class) and was able to basically replace the intake tubes and keep the stock CAI induction.

Is there any interest in this for the Crossfire?

I would suggest upgrading to the MB box if so as the flow is almost double the Crossfire box.

Below are some pics.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Picture 004.jpg (103.5 KB, 580 views)
File Type: jpg Picture 005.jpg (86.0 KB, 511 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2008, 05:22 PM
amick6534's Avatar
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Seymour, IN
Age: 51
Posts: 309
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


I have the MB cover what would be needed for conversion?


2004 Crossfire Coupe (Autostick)
Blaze Red Crystal (Built in June of 03) #1774
Tinted Windows
Sprint Booster BDD451A
TSW Bremmen Rims
New Fixed Wing Spoiler!
Storage Bin
Rear Diffusers
3.2 Liter V6 Emblems
SRT Front Bumper



Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2008, 05:46 PM
TVT_DESIGN
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


I'll get the pipes fitted up to my car with the MB box.

Cost will be around 75.00 for a bolt on app.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2008, 05:58 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Steamboat Springs, CO
Posts: 72
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


I, too, have the MB box on my Ltd Coupe. Anywhere near the price you are quoting and I'll get on board.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2008, 07:00 PM
Alabaster04's Avatar  
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 157
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


Would this setup work with the Stock Crossfire air box as well? $75, I'm on board!


--------------------------------------------
SUN Hyper Voltage Stabilizer MR
MEGAN RACING Exhaust
Carbon Fiber Dash Kit
Mopar Rear Diffuser
Mandrun Millenium Wheels
Alabaster Eyebrows
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2008, 07:25 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Forest Lake Mn
Posts: 99
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


I have the MB air box as well and for this price I want one too.

Bruce
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2008, 10:36 AM
amick6534's Avatar
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Seymour, IN
Age: 51
Posts: 309
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


Anthony, you say that the flow is almost double. So with your new tubes how would this measure up to say the needwings cai? Thanks!


2004 Crossfire Coupe (Autostick)
Blaze Red Crystal (Built in June of 03) #1774
Tinted Windows
Sprint Booster BDD451A
TSW Bremmen Rims
New Fixed Wing Spoiler!
Storage Bin
Rear Diffusers
3.2 Liter V6 Emblems
SRT Front Bumper



Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2008, 01:01 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 104
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


Quote:
Originally Posted by amick6534
Anthony, you say that the flow is almost double. So with your new tubes how would this measure up to say the needwings cai? Thanks!
What he said! The MB airbox flows almost twice as well as the oem Crossfire? I thought below the surface they were pretty much the same.


anolog man in a digital world.
07 Base, H&R Cup Kit, MB engine cover, oem fogs, magnaflow, ltd door sills, Brabus Monoblock IV's 18x8.5 w/ 245/35's and 18x10.5 w/ 285/35's more to come . . .
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2008, 01:11 PM
Kit Fox's Avatar
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago Suburbs (Wood Dale)
Posts: 770
Send a message via AIM to Kit Fox Send a message via MSN to Kit Fox
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


Quote:
Originally Posted by Alabaster04
Would this setup work with the Stock Crossfire air box as well? $75, I'm on board!
Ditto, interested too, I like the dual intake setup much more then single intake.


Quote:
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of your car; Oversteer is when you hit with the rear. Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall, and torque is how far you take the wall with you.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2008, 02:10 PM
lesr's Avatar  
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Langley BC Canada
Age: 69
Posts: 194
Send a message via AIM to lesr
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


Quote:
Originally Posted by TVT_DESIGN
We just finished up a customer's car (C-class) and was able to basically replace the intake tubes and keep the stock CAI induction.

Is there any interest in this for the Crossfire?

I would suggest upgrading to the MB box if so as the flow is almost double the Crossfire box.

Below are some pics.
Can you give me an idea what the cost would be for this mod including a MB Box
Looks ideal to me,


Rain X Fire

05 Roadster Ltd
Sapphire Silver
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2008, 02:54 PM
TVT_DESIGN
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


The filter area and tube diameter of the MB box is substantially larger then the Crossfire.

I'll post pics of the two pieces next to each other.

I'll also get total pricing after tomorrow's dyno session. No point in a price if we don't get good results...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2008, 04:41 PM
FP's Avatar
FP FP is offline
Senior Member/Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Crystal Lake, IL
Posts: 13,529
Send a message via MSN to FP
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


Quote:
Originally Posted by TVT_DESIGN
The filter area and tube diameter of the MB box is substantially larger then the Crossfire.
This is true. I could not use the XF tubes on my MB box. I had to get larger ones.


"Coupe with a Stick"
6 Speed Stick,NW Single CAI/74mm TB/HID 6000kLights/Sound System Upgrade/MB Engine Cover/ITC Leather Gear Knob
/Eyebrows/Mandrus Milleniums 19/20/Eurocharge Tune/Clear Side Markers/NW Catch Can/Startech Pedal Set/SRT6 Springs and Front Sway/TVT Camber Arms

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2008, 04:49 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 104
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


FP, I put an 320 SLK air box on my car and the tubes from the grill fit like oem. Which air box did you put on your car?


anolog man in a digital world.
07 Base, H&R Cup Kit, MB engine cover, oem fogs, magnaflow, ltd door sills, Brabus Monoblock IV's 18x8.5 w/ 245/35's and 18x10.5 w/ 285/35's more to come . . .
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2008, 04:56 PM
FP's Avatar
FP FP is offline
Senior Member/Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Crystal Lake, IL
Posts: 13,529
Send a message via MSN to FP
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


Quote:
Originally Posted by Isellthem
FP, I put an 320 SLK air box on my car and the tubes from the grill fit like oem. Which air box did you put on your car?
I have a larger box that's not the SLK320. I think it's from the smaller V8. The pic on the first post is not from an SLK, and that's the one I have.


"Coupe with a Stick"
6 Speed Stick,NW Single CAI/74mm TB/HID 6000kLights/Sound System Upgrade/MB Engine Cover/ITC Leather Gear Knob
/Eyebrows/Mandrus Milleniums 19/20/Eurocharge Tune/Clear Side Markers/NW Catch Can/Startech Pedal Set/SRT6 Springs and Front Sway/TVT Camber Arms


Last edited by FP; 11-13-2008 at 04:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2008, 05:33 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Steamboat Springs, CO
Posts: 72
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


FP - the MB airbox have on my 06 coupe looks identical to that in the TVT post and identical to yours except for the bling ( which I emailed you about ;-) ). My stock tubes also fit perfectly. Can you check yours and give a stock #???

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2008, 06:30 PM
TVT_DESIGN
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


I believe the SLK320 box is the same size as the Crossfire box, but the C class box is substantially larger.


I think with the KN filters, intake tubes, and a gutted box we may surpass CAI numbers. There is a ton of flow through this box now.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2008, 08:58 PM
JimmySkullz's Avatar
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Folsom Prison
Age: 33
Posts: 877
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


Let me know the price for the M.B. box and tubes too..
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 11-14-2008, 01:34 PM
TVT_DESIGN
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


We picked up 7 RWHP on a 2.6L. This is with the MB airbox, KN filters, and modded tubes.

I would expect another 3-5 on our 3.2L motors.

CAIs usually record 8-12 RWHP, so this is a very good alternative.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 11-14-2008, 02:15 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Steamboat Springs, CO
Posts: 72
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


Okay - let me try again. Bought my MB airbox over the net and it appears to be identical to TVT's. I admit that there is a very slight difference between the fit of the tubes on the Xfire box and on the MB box I have, but nothing major. The tubes do fit, just have to take a moment or two in attaching them.That would seem to indicate that I have an SLK320 airbox, but I'd like to know for sure.

Anybody got a part number on the TVT or FP MB airbox????
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 11-14-2008, 02:38 PM
TVT_DESIGN
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


SLK320 is: 1120900501
C320: 1120901101

Siginificant differences in flow.
Reply With Quote
 
Old 11-14-2008, 02:38 PM
Advertisement
Default Re: Mercedes Air Box W/CAI


 
 
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:42 AM.