Relay Replacement In RCM - CrossfireForum - The Chrysler Crossfire and SRT6 Resource
CrossfireForum - The Chrysler Crossfire and SRT6 Resource  
- CLICK HERE TO GET RID OF THESE ADS -
Go Back   CrossfireForum - The Chrysler Crossfire and SRT6 Resource > Technical > TSBs and How-To Articles

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2010, 07:10 PM
onehundred80's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: America (North)
Age: 76
Posts: 16,959
Default Relay Replacement In RCM


.....................................

Last edited by onehundred80; 02-08-2015 at 04:59 PM. Reason: errrors
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2010, 09:33 PM
pizzaguy's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: On The Cool Side of Cumming, GA
Age: 56
Posts: 7,758
Default Re: Relay Replacement In Rcm


That LOOKS like the right one. The specs in the link look right and I believe our relays are "Form A" which are SPST (single pole, single throw - that means their contacts "make" only when power is applied to the coil, when power is removed, the contacts relax but there is no "normally open" contact that then is connected to the "common" pin. This makes since, since our relays are used to turn on the fuel pump, starter, etc. They are not used to switch between one thing with power applied to the relay coil and another with power not applied to the relay coil).

I have looked and looked, looks like all relays in the diagrams ARE SPST "Form A" type. The ELECTRICAL specs are fine, I just wonder about the pinout - are these pins in the exact same position as ours? Hard to tell from photos, but I bet they are. I think this is a winner, 100/80. How much are they in lots of one or two? I'd spend a few dollars to get one in my hands - if they are 'the one', it'd pay for someone among us to have a few! (Thinking of a guy in Arizona we all know, but then, if they are a few dollars, I'll keep some around here.)

You can unsolder these using a clean iron and "Solder Wick", just so you are careful. I find that flowing a lot of EXTRA solder on first makes the wick work better. But I prefer to use my desoldering vacuum.



I hate to think of just how many modules that are replaced just because one relay gets sluggish or it's contacts get pitted. Relays ARE notoriously unreliable.


2005 Limited Roadster #036751 auto - sold , because I'm a dumbass
2005 Limited Roadster #033951 6 speed stick - R.I.P. - I really loved you
2007 SE RoadsterirrFir #071445 6 speed stick - bought with 27,800 miles
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2010, 11:11 PM
onehundred80's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: America (North)
Age: 76
Posts: 16,959
Default Re: Relay Replacement In Rcm


[quote=pizzaguy]That LOOKS like the right one......
I have looked and looked, looks like all relays in the diagrams ARE SPST "Form A" type. The ELECTRICAL specs are fine, I just wonder about the pinout - are these pins in the exact same position as ours? Hard to tell from photos, but I bet they are. I think this is a winner..[quote]
I measured the pin pattern with a vernier and it looks just fine. Price wise they can't cost too much, I'll go to a store I know that has all kinds of stuff like this.


Index of Crossfire problems, repairs and How To's
(118,000+ visits, the fifth most visited thread, and the most comprehensive list of fixes for the Crossfire problems and it is growing all the time.)


- No matter how much you push the envelope, it'll still be stationery.

2005 SRT6, Aero Blue, 33,530 miles
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-15-2010, 05:57 AM
GDC-SRT's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mn
Posts: 1,370
Default Re: Relay Replacement In Rcm


I like the direction you guys went on this.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-15-2010, 09:36 AM
ZERACER's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Orange County CA.
Posts: 1,575
Default Re: Relay Replacement In Rcm


ALWAYS THINKING AHEAD, please keep everyone posted.


Life is too short for sweating the small stuff!
"red 2005 roadster limited"

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-15-2010, 09:51 PM
downwardspiral's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Age: 29
Posts: 2,011
Default Re: Relay Replacement In Rcm


I was reading through the shop manual to try to find a part number or rating on the relays and it repeatedly said if one relay goes bad you must replace the whole RCM. LOL!!! You are doing a good thing by sourcing these things, because that is a $30 fix if you need to go out and buy a soldering iron! I'd love to see more threads like this that go more in depth on the elctronic systems of the car. Megasquirt is one of the coolest things in the world to me because all the information is available for you to digest (www.megamanual.com - SERIOUSLY CHECK IT OUT!).


2005 Crossfire LTD- Red/Grey 6Spd - Totaled within a month
2007 Crossfire LD- Gold/Cedar 6Spd- Sold
2011 Mustang GT- White/Black 6 Spd- Current Daily, Vortech V3si
(11.815@122 - 1.883 60' untuned) 567 whp/ 465 wftlb tuned
1973 Mustang Mach 1 - Flat OD Green/Black 4Spd- Current Project
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-15-2010, 10:17 PM
James1549's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cincinnati ( Delhi )
Posts: 9,295
Default Re: Relay Replacement In Rcm


Mark, I think what you meant is that there is no "normal closed" position on that relay. That is a "normal open" relay since it needs power to "close". Correct me if I'm wrong...

James



Last edited by James1549; 12-15-2010 at 10:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-15-2010, 11:20 PM
onehundred80's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: America (North)
Age: 76
Posts: 16,959
Default Re: Relay Replacement In Rcm


Quote:
Originally Posted by James1549
Mark, I think what you meant is that there is no "normal closed" position on that relay. That is a "normal open" relay since it needs power to "close". Correct me if I'm wrong...

James
He said no "normally open" contact, meaning it is normally open but there is no contact in that position, unlike the power seat relay for instance.


Index of Crossfire problems, repairs and How To's
(118,000+ visits, the fifth most visited thread, and the most comprehensive list of fixes for the Crossfire problems and it is growing all the time.)


- No matter how much you push the envelope, it'll still be stationery.

2005 SRT6, Aero Blue, 33,530 miles
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2011, 10:35 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: Relay Replacement In RCM


I Have Read All The Treads On Rcm Fix, I Tried Them And Still No Help. I Also Changed The Batteries In The Key Fob, Now The Car Cranks More Often But Cuts Off In 4 Seconds. I Can Get The Car To Crank With The Key I Haven't Changed The Battery In And It Will Run Longer And Then Cut Off. What Am I Doing Wrong? Is This Rcm Covered Under The 8/80 Warranty? Please Help, I Want To Drive This Baby.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2011, 10:42 AM
robby363's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Middleboro, MA
Age: 53
Posts: 2,250
Default Re: Relay Replacement In RCM


Quote:
Originally Posted by SILVERBULLET
I Have Read All The Treads On Rcm Fix, I Tried Them And Still No Help. I Also Changed The Batteries In The Key Fob, Now The Car Cranks More Often But Cuts Off In 4 Seconds. I Can Get The Car To Crank With The Key I Haven't Changed The Battery In And It Will Run Longer And Then Cut Off. What Am I Doing Wrong? Is This Rcm Covered Under The 8/80 Warranty? Please Help, I Want To Drive This Baby.
Have you tried to reprogram the key fob? It sounds like you have a problem in the security system that's not reading the security code. If the car starts and stalls out a few seconds after it's most likely the security system.


2005 SSB SRT-6 Coupe
New England XFires Charter Member (NEX)
http://www.facebook.com/pages/New-En...s/123402346919
Find us on facebook.

Click above and become a fan!

Last edited by robby363; 07-21-2011 at 10:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2011, 11:31 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: Relay Replacement In RCM


No I Haven't Tried That. I'll See If There Is A Tread On That And Try It, Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2011, 11:46 AM
robby363's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Middleboro, MA
Age: 53
Posts: 2,250
Default Re: Relay Replacement In RCM


Quote:
Originally Posted by SILVERBULLET
No I Haven't Tried That. I'll See If There Is A Tread On That And Try It, Thanks
This tell you how.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Key fob.JPG (122.0 KB, 191 views)


2005 SSB SRT-6 Coupe
New England XFires Charter Member (NEX)
http://www.facebook.com/pages/New-En...s/123402346919
Find us on facebook.

Click above and become a fan!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2011, 11:54 AM
onehundred80's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: America (North)
Age: 76
Posts: 16,959
Default Re: Relay Replacement In RCM


Quote:
Originally Posted by robby363
Have you tried to reprogram the key fob? It sounds like you have a problem in the security system that's not reading the security code. If the car starts and stalls out a few seconds after it's most likely the security system.
The transponder works without any batteries. The batteries only power the transmitter for the remote opening and locking of the doors.

Have you got any codes set?


Index of Crossfire problems, repairs and How To's
(118,000+ visits, the fifth most visited thread, and the most comprehensive list of fixes for the Crossfire problems and it is growing all the time.)


- No matter how much you push the envelope, it'll still be stationery.

2005 SRT6, Aero Blue, 33,530 miles

Last edited by onehundred80; 07-21-2011 at 12:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2011, 12:01 PM
robby363's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Middleboro, MA
Age: 53
Posts: 2,250
Default Re: Relay Replacement In RCM


Quote:
Originally Posted by onehundred80
The transponder works without any batteries. The batteries only power the transmitter for the remote opening and locking of the doors.
I remembered that after I posted it.. my bad. But his problem sounds like it's in the security system if it starts and then shuts off a few seconds after.


2005 SSB SRT-6 Coupe
New England XFires Charter Member (NEX)
http://www.facebook.com/pages/New-En...s/123402346919
Find us on facebook.

Click above and become a fan!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2011, 01:21 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: Relay Replacement In RCM


I Haven't Check For Codes Yet. But I Did Resolder The Bad Joints, Right Where The Pictures Show. Tried To Start Car With Key And There Was Nothing. Tried 5 Or 6 Times And Finally The Starter Clicked Once And Then Cranked The Next Time. It Run About 2 Minutes And Shut Down.after A Few Minutes It Would Crank Again And Run. Then Iput New Batteries In The Key Fob And Tried That And It Cranked More Often But Would Shut Down In A Few Seconds.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2011, 01:54 PM
robby363's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Middleboro, MA
Age: 53
Posts: 2,250
Default Re: Relay Replacement In RCM


Quote:
Originally Posted by SILVERBULLET
I Haven't Check For Codes Yet. But I Did Resolder The Bad Joints, Right Where The Pictures Show. Tried To Start Car With Key And There Was Nothing. Tried 5 Or 6 Times And Finally The Starter Clicked Once And Then Cranked The Next Time. It Run About 2 Minutes And Shut Down.after A Few Minutes It Would Crank Again And Run. Then Iput New Batteries In The Key Fob And Tried That And It Cranked More Often But Would Shut Down In A Few Seconds.
What was the problem you were having before you soldered it. The more I think about it could be the fuel pump relay and not the security system like I first thought.


2005 SSB SRT-6 Coupe
New England XFires Charter Member (NEX)
http://www.facebook.com/pages/New-En...s/123402346919
Find us on facebook.

Click above and become a fan!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2011, 11:44 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: Relay Replacement In RCM


To Start With, You Turn Switch And Nothing Happens,all The Dash Lights Are On And Horn Blows . So I Replace The Battery. This Didn't Help At All. Then I Checked Out The Rcm And Resoldered The Bad Joints And This Didn't Help Any. I Then Change The Batteries In The Key Fob And It Would Crank More Often But Would Shut Down In 2 Seconds. Inow Have Reprogramed Thefob And It Didn't Crank The First Couple Of Times And Then It Sarted Cranking And Ran Around 12 Minutes And Then Shut Down, I Did This A Few Times, But It Now Almost Cranks Everytime Time You Try.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2011, 12:30 PM
oledoc2u's Avatar
Retired LEO
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IN
Age: 62
Posts: 14,229
Default Re: Relay Replacement In RCM


CPS.......crankshaft positon sensor. Mine would start, but run rough then die. Does it do this when it runs or is it smooth as normal? Rough, I'd say CPS..


'05 Black Xfire #59312 SRT6 Roadster
'05 Blue xfire #42796 SRT6 Coupe
Both cars have the following mods:
Needswings Dual CAI, catch can, PSK, coupe has Needswings mani's, roadster has 240's manis, Eurocharged tuning, wavetrac, high performance brake fluid, metal lines, and upgraded ceramic brakes. Roadster has a Code 3 65mm S/C pulley, Coupe has a Karmann 62mm S/C pulley. Both cars run summer compound tires. Coupe has 55 fuel pump, Coupe soon to have 346 rear end gear


Doc Holliday
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2011, 08:53 PM
Larry Hitze's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lafayette, Indiana
Age: 58
Posts: 2,094
Default Re: Relay Replacement In RCM


Once again 180 thanks again for the good info and Pictures.


2004 Blaze Red - SRT front bumper cover
Crossfires Across America 2010 - St. Louis
Crossfires Across America 2011 - Denver
Tail of the Dragon - Oct 2010

Making my way across the USA!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2011, 10:14 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: Relay Replacement In RCM


It Runs Smooth. Also When It Cranks It Hardly Even Turns Over Before It Starts
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New headliner, pretty easy to replace. Adrian_X Interior 14 08-17-2016 01:27 PM
No speedometer, No odometer, 6 indicator lights on and F1 fuse blown northwest_crossfire Troubleshooting & Technical & Modifications 9 05-30-2016 05:19 PM
Now that you own a crossfire, a starters guide to ownership... KDW4Him Troubleshooting & Technical & Modifications 6 10-31-2015 10:37 AM
Rookie Mistakes - Need Help oldvintagedude Troubleshooting & Technical & Modifications 3 08-14-2015 06:20 AM
Fuel Pump Permanently On BrenLW Troubleshooting & Technical & Modifications 10 08-05-2015 04:53 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:26 AM.