U.K. Serving all countries of the United Kingdom.

Alarm

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2014, 05:39 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Alarm

Hi, my alarm goes off when driving and I cannot switch it off unless I pull the fuse! My car is a red coupe registered December 2003 with 60k miles. I've had the car for 9 years and never experienced this before.
Can anyone help with this problem.

Regards,

Gary

Old 03-19-2014, 08:46 AM
Forum Regular
Default Re: Alarm

possibly a battery on the way out?

Old 03-19-2014, 08:54 AM

Hi,

first check in the boot under the foam plastic to make sure its not like a swimming pool. If that checks out OK then its the alarm siren causing the problem.

Does the alarm go silent when you pull the fuse?? if so it means the internal battery for the alarm sounder has failed, its probably leaked over the circuit board causing the false alarms.

As a stop gap you can disconnect the alarm sounder ( instead of pulling the fuse) as that way you can still lock the vehicle and set the alarm but it wont make a sound.

The alarm siren itself is under the lower windscreen trim where the wipers come through. its just on the passenger side!

There is quite a few threads about removing it and also possibly replacing the battery. My alarm started doing the exact same thing 4 weeks after buying it, it spent a week with the alarm disconnected without problems and after replacing the internal batteries its been fault free for the last 12 months.

found one of the threads https://www.crossfireforum.org/forum...d.php?p=770974

Matt

Last edited by Wolf1608; 03-19-2014 at 08:58 AM. Reason: found the thread
Old 03-19-2014, 09:17 AM

Thx for the quick replies guys. I've had the battery checked and its A ok. No water in the boot under the plastic either so it sounds like its the batteries in the alarm! Will have to find someone with the necessary tools to do the job asap. Thx again

Gary

Old 03-19-2014, 09:40 AM

I had the same problem,