Troubleshooting & Technical Questions & Modifications Have technical or modification questions about the Crossfire? Find out the answer, or give advice in here!

Water pump gasket advise please.

Old 01-05-2019, 02:03 PM
Forum Regular
Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts
Default Water pump gasket advise please.

So I have the water pump off of my car. I have a new GMB water pump that came with gaskets. I guess I didn't look at them close enough before I started because I thought it was a flat material type gasket which is what the oem pump had on it that I removed. The new GMB pump has a metal frame and a rubber seal. Is this a good seal to use? Ive obviously never replaced a water pump before but I've never used a gasket like this before either. Is this a new and better type?

Old 01-05-2019, 02:29 PM
Forum Regular
Default Re: Water pump gasket advise please.

Ok never mind folks. I see whats going on now. I just realized that my original gasket is also a metal gasket. So I should only need my new metal gasket as well. The groove in the new metal gasket threw me off. It will flatten out just like the oem one I took off once installed. Crisis averted!

Old 01-05-2019, 02:32 PM
Received 535 Likes on 452 Posts

Originally Posted by Tom3120
So I have the water pump off of my car. I have a new GMB water pump that came with gaskets. I guess I didn't look at them close enough before I started because I thought it was a flat material type gasket which is what the oem pump had on it that I removed. The new GMB pump has a metal frame and a rubber seal. Is this a good seal to use? Ive obviously never replaced a water pump before but I've never used a gasket like this before either. Is this a new and better type?