CrossfireForum - The Chrysler Crossfire and SRT6 Resource

CrossfireForum - The Chrysler Crossfire and SRT6 Resource (https://www.crossfireforum.org/forum/)
-   Troubleshooting & Technical Questions & Modifications (https://www.crossfireforum.org/forum/troubleshooting-technical-questions-modifications/)
-   -   Newbie fuel economy improvement ideas (https://www.crossfireforum.org/forum/troubleshooting-technical-questions-modifications/54148-newbie-fuel-economy-improvement-ideas.html)

05Rd5tr 01-21-2012 08:21 PM

Newbie fuel economy improvement ideas

Hello one and all, I am a newbie to this forum and a new owner of a 05 Chrysler Crossfire Roadster n/a or,rather, my wife is. I am interested in knowing what improvements that can be made to the car to "effectively" improve the fuel economy . I am presently looking into a DCAI and possibly a different exhaust but am not interested in spending a lot of unnecessary $ on items that that are ineffective. Ideas please?

andrew 01-21-2012 08:24 PM

Re: Newbie fuel economy improvement ideas

~ welcome to the forum !!!

correct tire pressure (checked monthly) and clean air filters are two of the biggest fuel improvement areas... then there is always driving habits to consider. ;)

MikeR 01-21-2012 08:28 PM

the NA car gets very good gas mileage if you drive it that way.... my NA got 30mpg on the highway cruising at 70mph.... in city I think was around 25-26mpg.....:D

Kodebuster 01-21-2012 09:06 PM

On a trip from NYC to Orlando Florida with an average speed of around 70 to 75 mph, I tracked at 28.4 mpg as per my UltraGuage reader.

I zero'd out all counters on the Guage at the start, and monitored and set my fuel intake at every fill-up.

I'm running a Xfire N/A, completely stock, except for K&N filters...

MoparFreak69 01-21-2012 09:37 PM

On the trip home from Seattle when I bought the car I got 35 MPG while cruising 75-80 MPH which included several mountain passes and very hilly terrain (we get that on the left coast ;) )