View Single Post
Old 09-02-2017, 08:38 PM
amx1397
Received 202 Likes on 153 Posts
Default Re: Fixed SC pulley ?

this is from the slk32 --170 engine on MB world

The bypass valve on a supercharged motor puts the extra air from the SC back into the airbox when the engine is under low load. This is so that you get good fuel economy, but when you need it, the bypass valve closes so that the air is actually forced into the motor. Its not the same as a BOV on a turbo motor. I dont see any advantage to going to a aftermarket valve. It wont even make a sound, well maybe like a leaking airhose! Although I may be wrong, some one feel free to correct me.
sorry, I'm not so sure about your reply.

I'm still a noob for superchargers, however, I'm a pretty well informed turbo motor user.

The bpv won't open or close solely based on the load of the engine. Stock BPV will hold the compressed air between the supercharger and throttle body. If there's excessive compressed air between supercharger and throttle body, say at 14 psi, you decided to let off the throttle, the bpv will recirculate the unused air between the supercharger and throttle back to the intake tract. The stock bpv won't make any sound because of the recirculation, however, if you install an aftermarket blow off, it will.

On the M271, i see that it's possible with a custom flange and bov base. Some aluminum welding and a plug for the stock recirculate hose will do it. The only draw back is the drive by cable on the MB, on the Subaru, it's possible with either drive by wire or cable.

Also, if you want blow off sound, changing the rubber recirculate hose to a metal pipe will produce that sound. However, the supercharger muffler will kill most of that blow off sound.

All in all, i'm just seeking for the blow off sound, i know fully about the pro's and con's of a bov vs. bpv. i.e. lean/rich , cel codes, rice/not rice, ...etc.