All Crossfires A place to discuss any model of the Crossfire.

The Old Smell of Crayon Question

Old 05-13-2016, 05:43 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The Old Smell of Crayon Question

I would like to start of with saying I truly apologize for asking this question as I know it's been brought up and thrown around. With that said, I am new to the Crossfire and I have done a lot of web searching in regards to the source of the burning crayon smell. On the surface, some begin with the cabin filter, running the air circulator and spraying a can of deodorizer in the car. After these failed attempts, we move onto the source of the smell is the undercoating used in some German cars. I am pretty sure this is the root of the problem but what I haven't found is where anyone has gone as far truly attacking the issue and finally getting rid of the smell. My gut tells me the undercoating is under the car as well as in the interior and removing or spraying over it is simply out of the question and I must live with the smell. I love my SRT 6 but the burning crayon smell is really intense.
Any help will be truly appreciated.
John

Old 05-13-2016, 06:20 PM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Re: The Old Smell of Crayon Question

Any damp spots under the carpeting?

Old 05-13-2016, 06:28 PM

No, all is dry.

Old 05-13-2016, 06:34 PM

Actually, along the lines of carpet, if I was to pull it all up, is there any suppliers for replacement? I was thinking I would go as far as pulling it all out and spraying the floor with some type of sealant but would this solve my problem? Yes, I am pulling my hair out on this one.

Old 05-13-2016, 11:24 PM
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts

Originally Posted by JTFS