Crossfire Coupe A place to discuss Coupe specific topics.

Trans Connector Socket Leaking Again

Old 10-19-2015, 05:08 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trans Connector Socket Leaking Again

Trans on my '04 coupe (32,000+ miles) went into limp mode two years ago. Put in a new hydro-electric connector plate and electrical socket, replaced the fluid with Shell 134, got the trans re-flashed (County Transimission, Fairfax, VA - great shop) and everything was fine. Last week I noticed that the front passenger side of the trans was leaking fluid. Looks like the electrical socket I installed is leaking. I'm sure I installed it correctly (I'm an ex-Porsche-Audit tech) because it didn't leak for two years, and quality shouldn't be the issue because it's an MB OEM part. Has anyone experienced an electrical socket leaking after two years and only 500+ miles of driving? Comments appreciated.

Old 10-19-2015, 06:07 PM
Received 67 Likes on 52 Posts
Default Re: Trans Connector Socket Leaking Again

yes they are failure prone, replace the data cable seal again

Old 10-19-2015, 06:42 PM

Originally Posted by NeedsWings
yes they are failure prone, replace the data cable seal again
Thanks for your reply. Seems that O-rings alone aren't available, but a new OEM socket with O-rings is only $14.00.

Last edited by crymar; 10-19-2015 at 06:44 PM.
Old 10-20-2015, 06:22 PM
Received 552 Likes on 464 Posts

Originally Posted by crymar
Thanks for your reply. Seems that O-rings alone aren't available, but a new OEM socket with O-rings is only $14.00.
O-rings are available off the shelf at many places, they come in a variety of sizes. You need ones that can take the heat and the tranny oil over extended periods. O-rings made from fluorocarbon (Viton) would be fine.
Easier to buy the whole assembly though.

Last edited by onehundred80; 10-20-2015 at 09:01 PM.
Old 10-21-2015, 07:54 AM

Originally Posted by onehundred80
Easier to buy the whole assembly though.