Interior Any questions or information related to interior go in here.

Engine turned dash

Old 06-01-2009, 07:38 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine turned dash

I don’t know if anyone on this forum is old enough to remember when ‘engine turning‘ was popular? I think it would look great in a Crossfire. Anyone know who does this kind of work?

Rich

busbycoupeinstruments3hj.jpg

Last edited by Rich W; 06-01-2009 at 07:56 PM.
Old 06-01-2009, 07:53 PM
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: Engine turned dash

I've never seen it done. But it would look pretty cool! It would add a nice retro look to the dash.

Old 06-01-2009, 07:59 PM

My thought exactly!

Rich

Old 06-01-2009, 08:38 PM
Received 557 Likes on 468 Posts

Originally Posted by Rich W
I don’t know if anyone on this forum is old enough to remember when ‘engine turning‘ was popular? I think it would look great in a Crossfire. Anyone know who does this kind of work?

Rich

When I was an apprentice in the tool room we used to do this, as I remember it we used a copper rod in the drill press, the end of which we smeared with lapping compound and with the drill running we made overlapping patterns of the end on the part we were decorating. Getting the spacing even is tricky, as is using the correct grade of compound for the material being finished and using a constant pressure and time at each spot.
Check it out on the web, this was fifty years ago and a bit foggy in the memory.
Edit, I see that wooden dowels are used instead of the copper rod we used, you can see that the center of the swirl is just about erased by the adjacent swirls, if you can see the center too much the pattern is not so good.

Last edited by onehundred80; 06-01-2009 at 08:50 PM.
Old 06-01-2009, 09:06 PM
Senior Member/Moderator
Received 1 Like on 1 Post