CrossfireForum.org
Loading
 
- CLICK HERE TO GET RID OF THESE ADS -
Go Back   CrossfireForum.org > Technical > Troubleshooting & Technical & Modifications

Welcome to Crossfire Forum!
Welcome to Crossfire Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please
join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2007, 02:53 AM
DanielNTX's Avatar
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 38
Posts: 380
Default Crankshaft Position Sensor


Does anybody know how to unclip the Crankshaft Position Sensor? I can't figure it out.

*EDIT*
Here's a PDF, courtesy of manisusmc: Xfire Service_Crankshaft Position Sensor Replace


- - - - -
2004 Chrysler Crossfire - 6 speed MT, Blaze Red Crystal Pearl Coat
Sprint Booster BDD-451A * McCulloch 6,000K HID's * TVT Design CAI
Pioneer Premier DEH-P880PRS * Indy-Cator Shifter * Spin-Caps Chromies
Infinity Bass Link * Illuminated Door Sills * Cargo Cover
5,000K High and Fog HID's


Austin, Texas

Last edited by DanielNTX; 02-21-2011 at 07:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2007, 11:34 AM
xfire2005's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wake Forest, North Carolina
Posts: 1,266
Default Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


This should do it for you.

Service and Repair
REMOVAL

Click the image to open in full size.
  1. Disconnect the negative battery cable.
  2. Remove the air cleaner housing.
  3. Disconnect the crankshaft position sensor harness connector.
  4. Remove the retaining bolt and the crankshaft position sensor (1).
INSTALLATION

Click the image to open in full size.
  1. Install the crankshaft position sensor (1) to the engine. Tighten to 8 N.m (71 in. lbs.)
  2. Connect the crankshaft position sensor harness connector.
  3. Install the air cleaner housing.
  4. Connect the negative battery cable.


Graphite Metallic 2005 Coupe Ltd
Dark Slate Gray/Cedar Two-Tone Interior, 6spd MT
TVT_Design ECU TUNE
Build#= 034148
SL500 V8 Air Intake w/ K&N Filters

GTG's of Note:Carlisle 2007, 2009
Newport, Rhode Island Cruise, 2008
Mystic, Connecticut Cruise, 2009
MOPARS in Mystic - Chrysler Owners group, June 27, 2009

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2007, 07:05 PM
DanielNTX's Avatar
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 38
Posts: 380
Default Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


Well my car was randomly stalling on the streets and was pulling code P0335 which means "Crankshaft Position Sensor Circuit Error". I had problems starting the car after it stalled and I could restart it after a few minutes of cooling down. Apparently the Crankshaft Position Sensor is affected by heat when it fails. I did a lot of research on MBWorld.org and found many threads on the subject: http://forums.mbworld.org/forums/showthread.php?t=76431

I pulled it from the service manual already. It just says remove connector but it doesn't say how. There's actually a small clip that attaches to the part. You have to push the rear end down and pull it off. Don't pull on the wire. Then after you have to take a star socket and remove the retaining bolt.

The Mercedes Part # for the Crankshaft Position Sensor is 003 153 27 28. Unfortunately, no local autoparts store in Austin carried it. The average price for an aftermarket part is $80-90. I went to the Mercedes Dealership to get it and the part has been updated to part 003 153 28 28 and it cost $153.90 for the original Mercedes part.

I would say overall that it's easier than replacing a spark plug, but it's in a tight space and you can't really see or maneuver too much. If you're good with mechanics and you have the right tools it should take about 20 minutes to replace, not the 1.25 hours of labor quoted to me.

I've included a bunch of pictures so if you guys ever run into the problem.

Picture #1: Bolt, Star Socket, New part on the left, Old part on the right
Picture #2: Socket, Top of Screw, New on left, Old on right
Picture #3: Rear of engine where sensor is in the center of picture
Picture #4: Picture of where the sensor goes and the bolt hole
Picture #5: Picture of cable
Picture #6: Picture of sensor installed and cable attached
Picture #7: OBD II - no errors
Attached Images
File Type: jpg web01.JPG (25.3 KB, 2249 views)
File Type: jpg web02.JPG (36.6 KB, 1791 views)
File Type: jpg web03.JPG (69.5 KB, 2528 views)
File Type: jpg web04.JPG (36.5 KB, 2286 views)
File Type: jpg web05.JPG (43.4 KB, 2225 views)
File Type: jpg web06.JPG (31.4 KB, 2117 views)
File Type: jpg web07.JPG (34.4 KB, 4072 views)


- - - - -
2004 Chrysler Crossfire - 6 speed MT, Blaze Red Crystal Pearl Coat
Sprint Booster BDD-451A * McCulloch 6,000K HID's * TVT Design CAI
Pioneer Premier DEH-P880PRS * Indy-Cator Shifter * Spin-Caps Chromies
Infinity Bass Link * Illuminated Door Sills * Cargo Cover
5,000K High and Fog HID's


Austin, Texas
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2007, 08:53 PM
HDDP's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 4,091
Default Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielNTX
The Mercedes Part # for the Crankshaft Position Sensor is 003 153 27 28. Unfortunately, no local autoparts store in Austin carried it. The average price for an aftermarket part is $80-90. I went to the Mercedes Dealership to get it and the part has been updated to part 003 153 28 28 and it cost $153.90 for the original Mercedes part.
CAN YOU SPELL RAPE ?
Click the image to open in full size.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg crank pos sens.jpg (76.0 KB, 3299 views)


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2007, 09:01 PM
HDDP's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 4,091
Default Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielNTX
Well my car was randomly stalling on the streets and was pulling code P0335 which means "Crankshaft Position Sensor Circuit Error". I had problems starting the car after it stalled and I could restart it after a few minutes of cooling down. Apparently the Crankshaft Position Sensor is affected by heat when it fails. I did a lot of research on MBWorld.org and found many threads on the subject: http://forums.mbworld.org/forums/showthread.php?t=76431

I pulled it from the service manual already. It just says remove connector but it doesn't say how. There's actually a small clip that attaches to the part. You have to push the rear end down and pull it off. Don't pull on the wire. Then after you have to take a star socket and remove the retaining bolt.

The Mercedes Part # for the Crankshaft Position Sensor is 003 153 27 28. Unfortunately, no local autoparts store in Austin carried it. The average price for an aftermarket part is $80-90. I went to the Mercedes Dealership to get it and the part has been updated to part 003 153 28 28 and it cost $153.90 for the original Mercedes part.

I would say overall that it's easier than replacing a spark plug, but it's in a tight space and you can't really see or maneuver too much. If you're good with mechanics and you have the right tools it should take about 20 minutes to replace, not the 1.25 hours of labor quoted to me.

I've included a bunch of pictures so if you guys ever run into the problem.

Picture #1: Bolt, Star Socket, New part on the left, Old part on the right
Picture #2: Socket, Top of Screw, New on left, Old on right
Picture #3: Rear of engine where sensor is in the center of picture
Picture #4: Picture of where the sensor goes and the bolt hole
Picture #5: Picture of cable
Picture #6: Picture of sensor installed and cable attached
Picture #7: OBD II - no errors
PS: I would be extremely interested to have you explain to the forum how you got PCM info off of this logger

Click the image to open in full size.


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2007, 09:32 PM
DanielNTX's Avatar
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 38
Posts: 380
Default Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


Quote:
Originally Posted by HDDP
PS: I would be extremely interested to have you explain to the forum how you got PCM info off of this logger.

Click the image to open in full size.
Easy, you stick it in the OBD-II port and turn the engine to the On position. Then you navigate to Read Codes and it pulls the codes. It supports reading the Freeze Frame (engine stats at the time of fault), MIL codes and can even pull the VIN# through the OBD-II. I got this Lauinch CReader IV for around $45 shipped on eBay. I also have a Launch CReader II and it functions as well, but just displays the codes. I wish I could afford to get the Launch X-431 Infinite: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Launc...QQcmdZViewItem but it's too pricey for me and I'm not a full time mechanic, but I would love to have it.


- - - - -
2004 Chrysler Crossfire - 6 speed MT, Blaze Red Crystal Pearl Coat
Sprint Booster BDD-451A * McCulloch 6,000K HID's * TVT Design CAI
Pioneer Premier DEH-P880PRS * Indy-Cator Shifter * Spin-Caps Chromies
Infinity Bass Link * Illuminated Door Sills * Cargo Cover
5,000K High and Fog HID's


Austin, Texas
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2007, 09:38 PM
DanielNTX's Avatar
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 38
Posts: 380
Default Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


Quote:
Originally Posted by HDDP
CAN YOU SPELL RAPE ?
Click the image to open in full size.
True but I wanted it today. Nobody else in Austin carried it.


- - - - -
2004 Chrysler Crossfire - 6 speed MT, Blaze Red Crystal Pearl Coat
Sprint Booster BDD-451A * McCulloch 6,000K HID's * TVT Design CAI
Pioneer Premier DEH-P880PRS * Indy-Cator Shifter * Spin-Caps Chromies
Infinity Bass Link * Illuminated Door Sills * Cargo Cover
5,000K High and Fog HID's


Austin, Texas
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2007, 09:57 PM
HDDP's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 4,091
Default Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


Would be great to see a list of the PID's supported from the "Creader" and the interface your are using to access the OBD port... Also, would be great if you could share the protocol that the system is showing when you access the OBD...


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2007, 03:59 AM
DanielNTX's Avatar
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 38
Posts: 380
Default Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


I just plug it in and it works. Here's the manufacturer's website: http://www.cnlaunch.com/english/prod...ow.asp?pid=354

Creader IV is the newest portable automotive code reader. Because of it’s small size and portability, it can inform the driver of an electrical fault at any time. After connecting the Creader to the OBD II port, the driver can read and clear trouble codes on the unit. The Creader IV supports OBDII & CANBUS protocols. Features:
• LCD display
• Displays the content of trouble codes
• FREEZE FRAME function
• Supporting CANBUS diagnostics
• Manual for reading codes and clearing codes Specifications:
• LCD display (128*32), displaying by 2 lines, LED backlight
• Two keys operation
• Kit includes a disc including most manufacturer code information. Currently, there are more than 7,000 manufacturer codes, and it updates continuously.
• Includes users’ manual, including the explanation of trouble code before 1,000 number.

Here's the manual: http://usa.cnlaunch.com/products/dow...derIVusers.pdf

The $3000 X-431 Infinite is suppose to be able to modify settings through the OBD-II port. Here's the manual for this model: http://usa.cnlaunch.com/products/dow...31Infinite.pdf
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CreaderIV-TU2.jpg (9.1 KB, 88 views)
File Type: jpg CreaderIV-TU.jpg (14.3 KB, 54 views)


- - - - -
2004 Chrysler Crossfire - 6 speed MT, Blaze Red Crystal Pearl Coat
Sprint Booster BDD-451A * McCulloch 6,000K HID's * TVT Design CAI
Pioneer Premier DEH-P880PRS * Indy-Cator Shifter * Spin-Caps Chromies
Infinity Bass Link * Illuminated Door Sills * Cargo Cover
5,000K High and Fog HID's


Austin, Texas

Last edited by DanielNTX; 07-21-2007 at 04:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2007, 04:06 AM
DanielNTX's Avatar
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 38
Posts: 380
Default Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


I also heard the ScanGauge II is suppose to work with our cars, but I haven't had a chance to try one yet.

http://www.scangauge.com/


- - - - -
2004 Chrysler Crossfire - 6 speed MT, Blaze Red Crystal Pearl Coat
Sprint Booster BDD-451A * McCulloch 6,000K HID's * TVT Design CAI
Pioneer Premier DEH-P880PRS * Indy-Cator Shifter * Spin-Caps Chromies
Infinity Bass Link * Illuminated Door Sills * Cargo Cover
5,000K High and Fog HID's


Austin, Texas
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2007, 01:44 PM
HDDP's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 4,091
Default Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


Sorry, I thought it was a full scan tool for data logging PID's engine parameters and engine performance... It's only a DTC reader... I was shocked that a scan tool could only be $45... Now that I know it just reads DTC's, I understand...

If you want a full data logging scan tool system for under $300 let me know...


Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10-09-2008, 05:03 PM
maxcichon's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Auburn, AL nee Madtown, WI
Age: 56
Posts: 7,700
Default Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


P0335.

Damn! If I'm lucky, I can call it in and they'll just call me back when they get the part.

Car seems to run great. Any chance of getting stuck on the 30 mile trip to my dealer?


2005 Limited Roadster



Custom Dual CAI
Adjustable Rear Camber arms
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10-09-2008, 05:35 PM
MikeR's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Plains, OR
Age: 65
Posts: 5,190
Default Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


Max, mine threw the P0335 at the track and I drove it home with no problem. When my sensor went bad it just wouldnt start. When it got started it ran fine. I still have an intermittant issue with it. I believe that my connector is making a bad connection that 'opens' intermittantly. I am still trying to find a replacement for that. But the car starts(99.5% of the time) and runs great.

MikeR


2005 SRT6 Aero Blue coupe
"The Aero"
1/4 mile: 11.92 secs @ 114.3mph 1.72 60'

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10-09-2008, 06:35 PM
maxcichon's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Auburn, AL nee Madtown, WI
Age: 56
Posts: 7,700
Default Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeR
Max, mine threw the P0335 at the track and I drove it home with no problem. When my sensor went bad it just wouldnt start. When it got started it ran fine. I still have an intermittant issue with it. I believe that my connector is making a bad connection that 'opens' intermittantly. I am still trying to find a replacement for that. But the car starts(99.5% of the time) and runs great.

MikeR
MikeR,

thanks for vote of confidence!

it starts and runs great, just that mouurnful yellow "CHECK ENGINE" staring at me.

I'll call in the AM. Hope it's the sensor itself and not the harness. Do you think your electrical problem is heat-related?


2005 Limited Roadster



Custom Dual CAI
Adjustable Rear Camber arms
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10-10-2008, 09:47 AM
maxcichon's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Auburn, AL nee Madtown, WI
Age: 56
Posts: 7,700
Unhappy Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


Oh, woe is me.

My best buddy no longer works at Carl Gregory CJD and I have to follow the rules.
Crossfire tech doesn't work weekends (Service Manager/Crossfire SRT-6 owner) and I'll have to leave it OVERNIGHT!!! OMG!!!

Bring it in Monday, miss 2 hours work. Drive some POS rental. Worry about what the night jockys will do with my highly polished baby.

I HATE IT when that happens.


2005 Limited Roadster



Custom Dual CAI
Adjustable Rear Camber arms
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10-10-2008, 09:57 AM
MikeR's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Plains, OR
Age: 65
Posts: 5,190
Default Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


Max, not heat related. It does it cold or hot. I think the contacts in the connect just arent making good connections. I tweaked the pins on the sensor and that changed it a little. I went into the connector and tweaked the contact pads and that helped more. I used a meter on the cable to and end to end check and look for cracks in the wires and couldnt find anything. So it looks like the connecter is the issue. The pins on the sensor are quite thin compared to the connector and that probably dosent help.

MikeR


2005 SRT6 Aero Blue coupe
"The Aero"
1/4 mile: 11.92 secs @ 114.3mph 1.72 60'

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 10-10-2008, 09:57 AM
Stogey's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 1,939
Default Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


Looks like a pretty straight forward swap Max ! Did you try Mercedes for the part ?



It's not the Journey, it's the RIDE !!!
2004 Inferno Red Coupe

CICCI Charter Member
CTC Member # 11
Stogey
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 10-10-2008, 10:22 AM
MikeR's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Plains, OR
Age: 65
Posts: 5,190
Default Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


I got one from MB and one from NAPA. The NAPA part is the EXACT same part from BOSCH but without the MB logo on it. About $35 cheaper too.

MikeR


2005 SRT6 Aero Blue coupe
"The Aero"
1/4 mile: 11.92 secs @ 114.3mph 1.72 60'

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 10-10-2008, 10:30 AM
maxcichon's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Auburn, AL nee Madtown, WI
Age: 56
Posts: 7,700
Default Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stogey
Looks like a pretty straight forward swap Max ! Did you try Mercedes for the part ?
This baby's under warranty and I'll hold them to it. With my luck, I'd scratch the fender down to steel and have only myself to blame. At least if they screw it up, I have a record.

Thanks, bud!


2005 Limited Roadster



Custom Dual CAI
Adjustable Rear Camber arms
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2008, 04:04 PM
maxcichon's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Auburn, AL nee Madtown, WI
Age: 56
Posts: 7,700
Default Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


Update.

New TPMS sensor for intermittant dash light.
New CPS for DTC P0335
Free fix for exhaust leak

Bad news.

Excessive water leaking from exhaust leak. Smells/tastes like coolant. Tech will check for coolant in exhaust tomorrow AM.

Driving a Dodge Durango. What a pig. Makes my Tahoe feel like a...Crossfire!

More to come...


2005 Limited Roadster



Custom Dual CAI
Adjustable Rear Camber arms
Reply With Quote
 
Old 10-13-2008, 04:04 PM
Advertisement
Default Re: Crankshaft Position Sensor


 
 
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 AM.