Pulled the fuse for the alarm - will this be a problem - CrossfireForum - The Chrysler Crossfire and SRT6 Resource


Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2017, 09:31 PM
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Jose, CA.
Posts: 79
Default Pulled the fuse for the alarm - will this be a problem

The coupe's been having intermittent, nuisance-y electrical issues. But yesterday the alarm went off while I was driving it, then stopped. Got it home, shut the engine off, and 10 minutes later the alarm went off again. I pulled the battery cables for the night. Read through the forum, and I see that it's happened to folks before, for a variety of expensive reasons.

This morning I pulled the fuse for the alarm, then replaced the battery cables. Success.

Question: will I have any problems running without the fuse? There are a few items tied to that fuse (interior overhead light, a few others), but not critical. Any problems or issues if I just run w/out the fuse?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-19-2017, 11:16 AM
GraphiteGhost's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central South Carolina
Age: 62
Posts: 3,057
Default Re: Pulled the fuse for the alarm - will this be a problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by WingMan View Post
The coupe's been having intermittent, nuisance-y electrical issues. But yesterday the alarm went off while I was driving it, then stopped. Got it home, shut the engine off, and 10 minutes later the alarm went off again. I pulled the battery cables for the night. Read through the forum, and I see that it's happened to folks before, for a variety of expensive reasons.

This morning I pulled the fuse for the alarm, then replaced the battery cables. Success.

Question: will I have any problems running without the fuse? There are a few items tied to that fuse (interior overhead light, a few others), but not critical. Any problems or issues if I just run w/out the fuse?

Check for water in the lower rear (under the foam blocks) at the locking module (right side).

.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-20-2017, 12:04 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Bardmoor Florida
Posts: 77
Default Re: Pulled the fuse for the alarm - will this be a problem

You can do one of several things. Remove the siren (located under the cowl), remove the siren and replace it with a new one, or remove the siren and replace the internal batteries. There is a very excellent PDF on how to do this on this site. The internal batteries have leaked due to age onto the circuit board in the siren and this is causing shorts.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-20-2017, 01:13 PM
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Jose, CA.
Posts: 79
Default Re: Pulled the fuse for the alarm - will this be a problem

Thank you both!

I've seen the pdf for removing the cowl/siren, and will likely go this route. In the meantime I'm driving without the fuse, and there are no unexpected negative consequences. I was afraid that the alarm system might be tied in with the ignition, but that's proven to be not the case.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-20-2017, 04:09 PM
GraphiteGhost's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central South Carolina
Age: 62
Posts: 3,057
Default Re: Pulled the fuse for the alarm - will this be a problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by WingMan View Post
The coupe's been having intermittent, nuisance-y electrical issues.

I say again, due to this comment, I suggest you check if water has intruded into the right rear of the rear under the foam. It is a recurring problem when water intrudes into the modules located there from a couple of documented sources. IT DOES NOT HURT TO CHECK/ELIMINATE this common problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WingMan View Post
Thank you both!

I've seen the pdf for removing the cowl/siren, and will likely go this route. In the meantime I'm driving without the fuse, and there are no unexpected negative consequences. I was afraid that the alarm system might be tied in with the ignition, but that's proven to be not the case.

Regarding the siren, if corroded batteries are your issues, you can either unplug it and lose that alarm function OR try the 'cricket-on-crack' battery (internal to the siren) .pdf to repair the siren corroded batteries (unless the whole board is corroded throughout). Good luck Wingman, on whatever you choose!

.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-20-2017, 06:25 PM
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Jose, CA.
Posts: 79
Default Re: Pulled the fuse for the alarm - will this be a problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by GraphiteGhost View Post
I say again, due to this comment, I suggest you check if water has intruded into the right rear of the rear under the foam. It is a recurring problem when water intrudes into the modules located there from a couple of documented sources. IT DOES NOT HURT TO CHECK/ELIMINATE this common problem.
Thank you, GG! I'll look into this as well.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Tags
alarm


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:52 AM.