Crossfire Coupe A place to discuss Coupe specific topics.

So how's the winter driving?

Old 02-06-2008, 09:41 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default So how's the winter driving?

It's been a snowy winter in Chicago and since this is my first year with all-season tires, I thought it might be nice to find out what others think.

My first two winters I had the stock Michelin PS whatevers. They were outstanding tires and treated slush like rain, so as long as there wasn't actually ice or snow, winter driving was fine.

This year I bought the Yokohama Advan S-4 (I think that's what their called). I based my decision from reviews, mostly from Tire Rack, but other sources too. It was basically a tie between Michelin's all-season and Yokohama's, and since the Yoko's were supposed to be a little quieter and were cheaper, thats what I got.

What do I think? Well they are certainly better than the Michelin Summer only tires, but thats about all I can say. This is my first rear wheel drive in at least 20 years and it is a pretty light car, so it's hard to judge. I did once have a Chevy Cavalier Z-24 and there is no comparison between how much better it handled in the snow than the X-fire. People used to say I was able to drive faster in the snow than just about anyone else on the road. Now I can't keep up with other light weight (although maybe front wheel drive) two seaters. I don't have much of a problem sliding or even stopping, the car tracks real straight in ABS. The problem is from a dead stop, or going up-hill. NEVER stop on a hill!! One thing I learned right away is shut off the Traction Control if your having a hard time at a stop. The car reads that the tires are spinning and just stops them. Spins great donuts tho.

Old 02-06-2008, 10:08 AM
Default Re: So how's the winter driving?