Crossfire SRT6 A place to discuss SRT-6 specific topics.

Install 6 spd manual transmission into SRT6

Old 01-20-2009, 07:40 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Install 6 spd manual transmission into SRT6

I have a 2004 Crossfire with 6 spd manual transmission and a 2005 Crossfire SRT6. What I want to do is install the manual transmission in my SRT6. Has anyone done this? I'm an aircraft mechanic so I can to do the job. I just need to know if there will be any obstacles I will some across.

Last edited by Hurricane; 01-20-2009 at 07:43 AM.
Old 01-20-2009, 07:41 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Install 6 spd manual transmission into SRT6

Ask HDDP, he's the only one who has allegedly done it.

Old 01-20-2009, 07:45 AM

Thanks! I'm new here, who is HDDP?

Old 01-20-2009, 08:18 AM
Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts

He is a forum member that races his Crossfire. He mated an SRT6 engine to a 6-speed. It was pretty involved and required the use of a Motec computer and those things are very pricey. I think the problem with these cars is all the computers are tied together so closely that if it sees something that doesn't look right, it just won't work to make sure something bad doesn't happen and our ECU's are locked down like a safe so messing with them so they think they are supposed to be attached to a manual would pretty much be left to MB. Maybe LET or VRP can get into them that much but searching MB world hasn't produced any promising results.

All that said, GO FOR IT!!! I'd love to see a streetable SRT6 with a manual!!!

Old 01-20-2009, 10:22 AM
Life is random...so am I.

The auto trans is electronically tied into the PCM, just part of the Mercedes security system. You will need to overcome this, as well as the mechanical tie-in.

HDDP put a SRT6 engine into a 6-speed car. I think you will have the same problems that he did.

You might want to send him a PM or e-mail. Here's a link to his profile page....