Crossfire Coupe A place to discuss Coupe specific topics.

chrysler turbine car?

Old 08-23-2010, 01:53 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default chrysler turbine car?

did anyone know this car existed, google it and you'll notice the 3 lines on the fender like the xfire, you got to love it, ps i think my crossfire is getting repossed any day now cause i cant afford the 500$ month payment that ive been paying for the last 2 years

Old 08-23-2010, 02:07 PM
Received 512 Likes on 353 Posts
Default Re: chrysler turbine car?

I had a Grade school friend who's father owned the chrysler dealership in Ferguson/florrisant MO.
He had one for a while. Car was amazing. Sounding really cool and had all the bells and whistles. Back seat was HUGE! and so was the trunk.

Turbine concept was reflected in the tail lights as well.

Not quick off the line but entrance ramp and passing gear was very spirited.

I think all of them were Cream White or a metallic blue but on that memory I am fuzzier than normal. I was about 13 at the time.

Yeah, it ws real.

Last edited by Franc Rauscher; 08-23-2010 at 10:25 PM.
Old 08-23-2010, 02:37 PM
Received 202 Likes on 153 Posts

there were two of them in south fl,, one on miami beach which i saw at least once a week, and the other in palm beach i think, got up close a few times, never got to drive it. I was 22 at the time saw it in 1963 in December and two or three times in 1964,then i went into the USAF. june 64

Old 08-23-2010, 02:38 PM
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

timeless

Old 08-23-2010, 03:20 PM
Life is random...so am I.

There's one in the Chrysler museum. The gang that attended Woodward got to see it up close.

I think people were mostly put off by the ridiculous numbers on the RPM gauge....... people were used to V-8's turning 7000RPM max...... 50,000RPM was a whole new territory.

Old 08-23-2010, 03:37 PM
Forum Regular
Received 1 Like on 1 Post