Wheels, Brakes, Tires and Suspension Open discussion for tires/rims/lowering springs/brakes etc...

Tire pressure monitor reset

Old 08-25-2015, 01:01 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tire pressure monitor reset

TPM is on continuously. Pressure has been verified OK by manual guage and electric testing has verified tires are correct and sensors are functioning.No reference to this situation in owner's manual have I found.Where / How do I reset / fix this system / function ? RR

Old 09-23-2019, 08:06 AM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: Tire pressure monitor reset

Originally Posted by RedRover
TPM is on continuously. Pressure has been verified OK by manual guage and electric testing has verified tires are correct and sensors are functioning.No reference to this situation in owner's manual have I found.Where / How do I reset / fix this system / function ? RR
I am surprised that you got no replies on this. I'm new with my car and am spending a lot of time perusing this forum. I'll give you my best understanding of the problem.

The TPMS has to be "re-learned" when the sensors are replaced or any part of the tire pressure monitoring system has been repaired, replaced or reset. Perhaps this is your situation since a sensor test has proven yours are alive and active.

I have replaced two of my sensors and contacted two dealerships about the "re-learn" process. Both stores want a half hour labor (non refundable) to do the work. My understanding is they must own and operate the DRB III tool to tell the computer to look at the new sensors. I have yet to go to the dealership to do this because of the last nightmare with them charging me for the failed attempt to program a spare key. I'm afraid they will have the same bad luck (for me) with the new sensors. There is an option of simply disabling the warning light . To keep "legal" aftermarket TPMS can be purchased for as little as $22.

And I just noticed your post is more than four years old.. Sheesh!