Interior Any questions or information related to interior go in here.

Attempting headliner repair

Old 04-19-2014, 10:06 PM
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Attempting headliner repair

I have gathered what I think will be necessary for a headliner redo. 3M #38808 headliner adhesive, 1/8 in Volara foam and a leather like material for the headliner. The Volara foam is supposed to have good sound deadening properties, along with good insulating ability and is mechanically strong. Also a good pair of scissors, a roller and a table large enough to hold it all. So here I go trying something I've never done before. Any one who has any tips to pass along, I'm all ears. Call me Dumbo LOL

Old 04-21-2014, 10:25 PM
Forum Regular
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Attempting headliner repair

When I did mine I had trouble keeping the edges down while the glue dried so I used strips of card board from a cereal box and clothes pins just using clothes pins applied to much pressure to a small area and left marks on it after it dried... Across the top of the windshield where the problem seemed to start i left the material hang over a few inches after it was all dried i turned it over shaved off the foam and glued just the fabric to the top of the liner so it couldn't fall again! I also had one of the cardboard? corners crushed pretty bad from removing the headliner so to fix it I used PVC pipe glue also used it on some of the edges that I couldn't get to stick worked awesome! PVC pipe cleaner seemed to help remove the old head liner too.. I bought my headliner material from Joann fabrics it looked and felt exactly like the oem liner I was amazed! Good luck on your reinstall!

Old 04-21-2014, 10:49 PM

Originally Posted by jmk41