New Member Introductions Welcome new members !! This is the place to post a new thread and introduce yourself and tell us a little about yourself and what model Crossfire you just bought or are looking to buy. Threads created for anything other than introductions are subject to be moved to the appropriate section in the forum for the topic being posted.

Thank You for Making My New 2005 Limited a Reality

Old 04-24-2014, 09:05 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thank You for Making My New 2005 Limited a Reality

I'd like to thank all the members of this Crossfire Forum for contributing their knowledge and experience in owning and maintaining a Chrysler Crossfire. I am an Industrial Designer and have a few decades of experience in the shop and have repaired /restored many cars and vintage motorcycles. I know my way around machines since I design and build them, yet there is no substitute for machine specific knowledge and experience. I am most grateful to the members of this forum who have allowed new Crossfire owners, like me, to stand on their shoulders and reap the benefit of their knowledge.

Last month I found a diamond in the rough; a 2005 Limited with 52K miles in very nice condition... however, it would not start and was garaged for the past two years. The owner was clearly a car guy as he had some other very nice cars. I asked about crankshaft position sensor (CPS) and he said he replaced it and the car still wouldn't start. I asked him if put in a Bosch CPS and he replied that he just went to the local auto parts store got a replacement. I took a chance after extensively researching this forum and calculating a worst case scenario for common parts costs, towing costs and my time. The seller accepted my well-below market value offer after I politely explained that I'm assuming significant risk and the potential repair cost exposure. He was a reasonable guy and eventually agreed, I called a flatbed towing service and got the car home.