Audio, Video and Electronics Have audio, video or electronics questions? Post them in here.

Constant Battery Warning Light While Driving

Old 06-13-2022, 05:24 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Constant Battery Warning Light While Driving

(Please note that I'm not a mechanic and my potential guesses of the problem's origin may be completely wrong and/or illogical.)

For the past week or so when I drive, the battery light indicator stays lit the whole time. My crossfire is my summer car so I replaced my battery a month ago for the summer so I can pretty much guarantee that the battery is not the issue. What I'm concerned about is that the alternator may be bad or the entire electrical system is open or feeding too much electricity into other parts of the car. I also fear that I'm only running on battery power when driving and the running engine is no longer charging the battery. I was doing some research earlier about Crossfires having a parasitic draw problem in the electrical system but I don't think that is the case either since my car starts without a problem. I'll check my battery voltage later this week to make sure this isn't the issue. I was wondering if anyone else has had this problem before and has found a solution.

Old 06-13-2022, 06:08 PM
Received 344 Likes on 304 Posts
Default Re: Constant Battery Warning Light While Driving

First, the parasitic drain problem is usually the batteries leaking in the siren under the cowl in front of the windshield. Use the search feature at the top of the page. To check your alternator, use a voltmeter and check it not running and running. If the voltage is higher when running it means the alternator is working. Did you clean all of the connecters, including where the ground cable connects to the front fender? I will post a link to help with problems.

The following users liked this post:
civil_wrongz (06-24-2022)
Old 06-13-2022, 06:09 PM
Received 344 Likes on 304 Posts

Lots of valuable info here.