Crossfire Roadster A place to post Roadster specific topics.

Potential new guy

Old 06-05-2006, 06:30 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Potential new guy

Hello everyone:

I currently have a 1999 BMW Z3 2.8 roadster with 36,000 miles. I am looking for a slightly larger convertible to move to. The looks of the Xfire really appeals to me.

I am currently looking at 2005 Xfire Limited roadsters and I have noticed something that is potentially troubling to me.

I am seeing several 2005 Limited roadsters on the market, (Atlanta, GA area) that have in the range of 6K to 10K miles on them. It makes me wonder if these are cars traded back in on something else because there were problems with them or could these be corp. executive cars, demos, etc.

Since I am new to the Xfire, I thought I would ask knowledgeable people about my concern.

Any thoughts or insights you could provide me would be greatly appreciated.

Old 06-05-2006, 07:36 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: Potential new guy

reblu,

The Z3 is a nice car. The Xfire will definitely ride smoother. You could probably use the Xfire as a daily driver. I can't say why there are so many low mile units on the market other than an overall change in the market. Z4 sales are down for the past two years. Not because they are not nice cars, I think mainly because people are looking more at practicality than anything else. Sports cars are not exactly practical. BUT, they sure are fun.

I traded a '04 Z4 for my SRT6. The Z4 had about the same level of performance of your Z3 2.8 (mine was the 2.5). It was fine til I started going to track days and being embarrassed by rice rockets.

Got a killer deal on an SRT 6 and jumped on it. I gave up the roadster for a coupe (I missed the top down this spring) but the performance is unreal. If you get a chance, try an SRT6 roadster.