Crossfire Roadster A place to post Roadster specific topics.

Will the wrong oil weight cause damage?

Old 01-30-2009, 08:05 AM
Forum Regular
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Will the wrong oil weight cause damage?

Just noticed the maintenance sticker on my newly purchased roadster in the upper left portion of the windshield. It states it was changed with 5w30 rather than the reccomended 0w40. Please advise!

Old 01-30-2009, 08:16 AM
Default Re: Will the wrong oil weight cause damage?

I am no expert on this but I would not think it would be good to have an oil that misses the mark on both the low and top end.
As a minimum I would not try and use the car hard nor go the normal 7,000 miles between oil changes.

Old 01-30-2009, 08:17 AM

If where ever you purchased the car at-changed the oil as stated,take it back to them immediately and have the correct the problem.If not do it yourself.I would reccomend doing ASAP.Why chance it----------------Dave

Old 01-30-2009, 08:30 AM
Received 30 Likes on 26 Posts

Assuming it is Mobil1 5W-30 synthetic, then it is highly unlikely it will cause problems. However, the mfr recommended 0W-40 for a reason and that's what you should use. When I bought my SRT6, the dealer had used dinosaur 10W-30 and it had been test driven multiple times. I had him replace with the proper synthetic before taking ownership.

If cost was an issue, I would use Mobil1 5W-30 or 5W-40 in hot weather if it was cheaper than 0W-40 and my warranty expired. I would definitely use 0W-40 in a cold winter climate. That being said, I also decided that the $5-10 difference to buy 0W-40 was probably good insurance since I only change the oil annually and want the car to last.

Old 01-30-2009, 09:00 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post