Crossfire SRT6 A place to discuss SRT-6 specific topics.

Anyone else have this problem with the NeedsWings CAI install?

Old 01-24-2009, 12:12 PM
Forum Regular
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone else have this problem with the NeedsWings CAI install?

Well I just got the Needswings CAI installed yesterday. I've been waiting for a nice (edit: "nicer") day weather-wise to come bye. It's been in the 20's and in the teens with wind chill lately. With temps in the mid to upper 40's Friday was the perfect day to tackle this install.

I'd like to preface this by saying I am NOT very mechanically inclined. I'm a tech geek at heart and know quite a bit more about home video/audio, electronics, photography & video than I do about cars. Alas, cars are one of my addictions none the less.

I printed out the PDF supplied by Needswings and popped the hood and began. Most of the early steps were cake, and even a complete novice such as myself didn't have a problem with. However I hit a huge snag in the step where you are supposed to remove the plastic radiator bypass support/core or whatever it's called. In Rob's directions the illustrations are very vague and when reading it (days before the install) I knew this step was going to nail me- and that it did. All the smooth pacing grinded to a halt when trying to simply remove this part which is secured "by two clips". Well the one clip is visible so I decided to work on that one first. It's flat and has nothing to grab to turn or pull so I'm assuming it's a pressure clip needing to be PULLED out. I gripped the piece and pulled so hard I could see the shocks move a little bit. It woudln't budge. I finally resorted to gripping the part in an area next to the clip with pliars and wrenched on it until it snapped and came out. Even then there was another clip that was hidden from view that needed to be removed.