All Crossfires A place to discuss any model of the Crossfire.

Maintenance Recommendations

Old 12-09-2020, 09:09 PM
Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Default Maintenance Recommendations

I am a newbie to the Crossfire world and recent owner of a 2005 roadster with 34K miles. The overall condition of the car is excellent. Previous owner did not provide any maintenance records. I would like to know what the recommendations are for the following:
  • Preferred engine oil - Mobil 1 0-40w
  • Oil filter - Mann HU 718
  • Antifreeze - MB, GO5 or G-40
  • Air filters
  • Top mechanism lubrication
  • Other recommendations
Thanks, Jack

Old 12-09-2020, 09:32 PM
Administrator
Received 890 Likes on 694 Posts
Default Re: Maintenance Recommendations

That sticker that says "Mobile 1 0W40 Recommended" is fifteen years old. The recommendation since about 2010 has been 5W40, 0W40 is approved but no longer recommended.
The full list of approved oils is here: https://bevo.mercedes-benz.com/bevolisten/229.3_en.html

The Mann Fleece filter is available everywhere, even under familiar brand names. These two are actually re-boxed Mann Fleece filters you can buy locally, but watch it, the L25276 is a crappy paper filter:

I'll leave the antifreeze to others but PLEASE don't ask about air filters - it's like a religion around here. You have your K&N cultists, there are a few "Mopar" freaks, and then there are guys like me - who buy reasonable off-the-shelf filters and change them annually - even tho we drive maybe 3000 miles in an entire year.