Crossfire SRT6 A place to discuss SRT-6 specific topics.

I think the B'day 4 my "new" SLK32 just got crashed...engine flush...don't think so.

Old 06-08-2012, 08:57 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default I think the B'day 4 my "new" SLK32 just got crashed...engine flush...don't think so.

Took one of the rocker covers off today.....
I've never seen anything like it!
The guy before me obviously didnt change the oil frequently...and that's an understatement.
see photo
Cars done 80k miles, MB have their last record of seeing it at 30k miles.

Not sure if it's recoverable without a full rebuild - but that's just the cams. Then of course there's the Journals and the timing case.

I'll be droping the sump soon and pickout some stuff from that - but this stuff is caked on.
I'm no expert, but no "engine flush formula" could get get rid of this surely - without causing other possible issues with floating/dislodged debris. I mean Seafoam/Lubrimol etc.
Or have others seen success from such treatments in recovering from a situation like this?

Main concern I guess...and of course there are many....is all those oil holes through to bearing faces etc.

Current plan of attack

Short of an engine rebuild....Put it back together now and Plan to:
  • Pull the Sump off ....check Journals and BEnd oil ports, clean (carefully) as required.
  • Pull the heads off and dissamble/clean/check for spec./shave for true and reassemble.
  • Possibly...continue with pulling off the timing cover and cleaning/checking (if I dont already have to do this to get the heads off).
That's just my ramblings - other suggestions/comiserations/support - appreciated.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg
RockerSludge1.jpg (440.3 KB, 152 views)
RockerSludge2.jpg (239.1 KB, 126 views)

Last edited by Billy22Bob; 06-08-2012 at 09:01 PM.
Old 06-08-2012, 09:12 PM
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: I think the B'day 4 my "new" SLK32 just got crashed..engine flush...dont think so