Crossfire SRT6 A place to discuss SRT-6 specific topics.

Building lightweight Lithium car battery 10lbs!

Old 12-17-2017, 08:36 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Building lightweight Lithium car battery 10lbs!

Decided to put princess on a diet and install a lithium battery . I have been installing large lithium packs in gem cars for about 3 years and have learned a lot about different types of lithium and their characteristics . The lithium cells we use in Gem cars are Lithium manganese (LMO) same chemistry as Nissan leaf , chevy volt , bmw , etc. They work well in these applications but they don't like heat and started losing range after a year in hot climates . So I started researching a better chemistry and found Lithium Titanate (LTO), this is stuff is incredible ! These will run circles around any other lithium .

Here is some info on them :

A lithium–titanate battery is a modified lithium-ion battery that uses lithium-titanate nanocrystals on the surface of its anode instead of carbon. This gives the anode a surface area of about 100 square meters per gram, compared with 3 square meters per gram for carbon, allowing electrons to enter and leave the anode quickly. This makes fast recharging possible and provides high currents when needed. (from wikipedia)

these cells can be charged/discharged at 7c with short runs over 10c . Battery can be charged to 90% in less then 10 min.

They perform very well at low temperatures and extreme temperature tolerance from -22 degrees f to +131 degrees Fahrenheit . Most other lithium's well either not perform or quickly degrade if operated in these temperatures .

They are very stable and considered one of , if not the , safest of all lithium's . we have test data showing them charged to TWICE their normal voltages with no thermal runaway , and they continued to function properly .

25+ year shelf life

20,000+ life cycles (charged and discharged twice a day would be 27 years!)