New Member Introductions Welcome new members !! This is the place to post a new thread and introduce yourself and tell us a little about yourself and what model Crossfire you just bought or are looking to buy. Threads created for anything other than introductions are subject to be moved to the appropriate section in the forum for the topic being posted.

New member with a rattle from engine or gearbox

Old 10-11-2015, 02:57 PM
KWW
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New member with a rattle from engine or gearbox

Hi
I am new to Chrysler ownership having bought a Crossfire just over a month ago, up until now I was very pleased with the car I have only done about 150 miles since owning the car, today I went for a drive, everything was fine until I got back home, when I turned the engine off there was a rattle from the engine or gearbox, not sure which, it sounded like a nut or bolt loose being thrown around in the engine or gearbox by oil. I restarted engine, rev'ed it up and then let rev's die down, again I heard the noise, the car is proforming ok, oil pressure ok, water tempreture ok, outside the car, engine sounds fine, noise seems far more noticeable from inside the car. The car is a 2004 with manual gearbox, done 34k, I would appreciate your thoughts.
Regards
Ken

Old 10-11-2015, 06:40 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: New member with a rattle from engine or gearbox

Welcome! Was it in neutral when you heard this, or in gear with clutch depresses? Does it move under it own power still? If so, take a short gentle drive to check all gears.
How did you check oil pressure? (just curious)

Old 10-12-2015, 02:24 AM
KWW

Originally Posted by pioneer4x4
Welcome! Was it in neutral when you heard this, or in gear with clutch depresses? Does it move under it own power still? If so, take a short gentle drive to check all gears.
How did you check oil pressure? (just curious)