Other Cars The Crossfire isn't the only car out there. Discuss all the others in here.

Porsche Boxster S

Old 02-19-2007, 12:23 PM
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Porsche Boxster S

Opinions on this one? I am on the fence between the SRT-6 and the Boxster S... obviously the performance is far greater with the SRT, but I LOVE LOVE LOVE the way the Porsches look. I also love the fact that it is a true drivers car, with the 6-speed. Speed isn't terrible in the S by any means... several sources have said it will run a 13.7 and a 5.6 second 0-60... Confirmations?

I'm truly seeking some input on the whole package. I am completely new to the roadster/sport coupe scene... what are Maintenance costs like on a Boxster S? I know the Carreras and such are EXPENSIVE, but then again a $120 oil change o the SRT doesn't sound like fun either. Are there any huge problems that the 986 Boxsters experienced?

I'm specifically looking at a 2003 Boxster S... $28,000 and it is LOADED.

Versus $27,000 for an SRT... Gah this is a tough choice.

Mainly because of the nameplate. College chick asks "What do you drive?"

I say, "A Chrysler".

People in general are ignorant to what a Crossfire truly is (SLK). But I think I would get tired of having to explain that to everyone, ya know?

Whereas on the flip side, the ask what you drive and you say "Porsche".

People immediately know what you're working with...

Opinions guys?

Thanks in advance...

Old 02-19-2007, 12:30 PM
RPM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Porsche Boxster S

Originally Posted by JHM2K
Opinions on this one? I am on the fence between the SRT-6 and the Boxster S... obviously the performance is far greater with the SRT, but I LOVE LOVE LOVE the way the Porsches look. I also love the fact that it is a true driver's car, with the 6-speed. Speed isn't terrible in the S by any means... several sources have said it will run a 13.7 and a 5.6 second 0-60... Confirmations?