TSBs and How-To Articles This is for information on Technical Service Bulletins and for posting How-To Articles.

Newbie needing how-to help

Old 10-06-2009, 05:41 PM
Banned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Newbie needing how-to help

Okay, okay... I know all of you get SO tired of people coming on here and asking questions that have been covered numerous times, but I've been searching the forum over for hours now without much luck. Although I have found some good suggestions, if you know of any sure fire solutions or how-tos for the problems listed below, please fill me in.

I'm a newbie and would REALLY love to take the very best care of my '04 Xfire, but don't have much experience with cars (just get a kick out of driving them) and don't trust anyone in the area to work on it. All you help will be greatly appreciated!

Here's a list of current issues I'd like to tackle:

- Transmission leak
- Dead cigarette lighter
- Rattle in center console
- Lift gate rattle
- Window seal bubbling
- Idle putter (is this normal?)
- Replacing break pads (with the dustless ones)

Again, I understand most of this has probably been covered, but any links or explanations will be a HUGE help to me.

Old 10-06-2009, 06:40 PM
Forum Regular
Default Re: Newbie needing how-to help

- Transmission leak - Covered by warranty?
- Dead cigarette lighter - See if you have any power to it at all - possibly loose connection.
- Rattle in center console - Is it empty?
- Lift gate rattle - On the forum - tape and possibly TSB
- Window seal bubbling - Covered by warranty?
- Idle putter (is this normal?) - Do you mean surging/hunting, or is it playing golf?
- Replacing break pads (with the dustless ones) - Rotex Gold

Old 10-06-2009, 06:51 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by spensley
- Transmission leak - Covered by warranty?
- Dead cigarette lighter - See if you have any power to it at all - possibly loose connection.
- Rattle in center console - Is it empty?