radio ignoring all controls - CrossfireForum - The Chrysler Crossfire and SRT6 Resource

U.K. Serving all countries of the United Kingdom.

radio ignoring all controls

  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-27-2016, 06:36 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Kidwelly
Age: 64
Posts: 3
Default radio ignoring all controls

Hi. First forum posting, so wish me luck. A couple of days ago the radio display showed a random selection of angled lines, but powered on and worked ok. Next time we used the car the radio came on with the ignition, but did not respond to any of the buttons, volume, anything. So it is now fixed on one station at a set volume that we can not change and we can not switch it off. Okay until it loses the radio signal, at which point we are forced to listen to the crackling noise. Help please. It's a 2006 Crossfire with the standard radio (as far as I'm aware).
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-27-2016, 11:02 AM
pizzaguy's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Age: 58
Posts: 9,241
Default Re: radio ignoring all controls

There are two fuses for the radio - pull them both. (Sorry, but the exact fuse varies by year, I found this out the hard way this summer). Both fuses are in the undershood fuse box, driver's side. Leave them out 15 seconds or more.

Alternatively, disconnect the battery ground cable for 1/2 minute.

When you power back up, it should restore it's brains. If not, it is done for - sorry. But many on this forum have upgraded to way better head units (myself for one!) and have the OEM radio sitting on a shelf in the basement. If you look, you CAN find one.

But do not overlook the idea of just upgrading to something newer. The Kenwood/JVC (and I think Clarion) marine radios are the same color as our dash and they sound WONDERFUL compared to the factory unit.

I put a JVC 660 in my car (it is discontinued), $80 at Best Buy and WOW did is enhance the sound in my car.
I had it wired up and installed in 1/2 hour.
 
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-27-2016, 11:27 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Kidwelly
Age: 64
Posts: 3
Smile Re: radio ignoring all controls

Hi. Thanks for the speedy response. I forgot to say that I did try the time-honoured 'press the power button for 10 seconds' computer re-boot trigger with the on/off button, but to no avail. I will do what you say. I have read in the threads that there is no security code, which is good as ours came with no paperwork.
I had considered an upgrade to DAB with Bluetooth, but was put off by the need for a decent DAB aerial (wired) as DAB is very patchy where we live. I'll have a look at the makes you mention.
Thanks again. :-)
 
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-27-2016, 12:22 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Kidwelly
Age: 64
Posts: 3
Default Re: radio ignoring all controls

Yup, 100% success. Thanks. Must be the cheapest/quickest fix ever? :-)
 
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-27-2016, 05:50 PM
onehundred80's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Caledon, Ontario
Age: 78
Posts: 21,049
Default Re: radio ignoring all controls

Originally Posted by grahammrobert View Post
Hi. First forum posting, so wish me luck. A couple of days ago the radio display showed a random selection of angled lines, but powered on and worked ok. Next time we used the car the radio came on with the ignition, but did not respond to any of the buttons, volume, anything. So it is now fixed on one station at a set volume that we can not change and we can not switch it off. Okay until it loses the radio signal, at which point we are forced to listen to the crackling noise. Help please. It's a 2006 Crossfire with the standard radio (as far as I'm aware).
Response by Pizzaguy.
There are two fuses for the radio - pull them both. (Sorry, but the exact fuse varies by year, I found this out the hard way this summer). Both fuses are in the undershood fuse box, driver's side. Leave them out 15 seconds or more.

Alternatively, disconnect the battery ground cable for 1/2 minute.

When you power back up, it should restore it's brains. If not, it is done for - sorry.

(This will go in the Index of Crossfire problems.)
 
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-27-2016, 07:38 PM
dedwards0323's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upstate SC
Age: 67
Posts: 6,098
Default Re: radio ignoring all controls

Originally Posted by pizzaguy View Post
There are two fuses for the radio - pull them both. (Sorry, but the exact fuse varies by year, I found this out the hard way this summer). Both fuses are in the undershood fuse box, driver's side. Leave them out 15 seconds or more.

Alternatively, disconnect the battery ground cable for 1/2 minute.

When you power back up, it should restore it's brains. If not, it is done for - sorry. But many on this forum have upgraded to way better head units (myself for one!) and have the OEM radio sitting on a shelf in the basement. If you look, you CAN find one.

But do not overlook the idea of just upgrading to something newer. The Kenwood/JVC (and I think Clarion) marine radios are the same color as our dash and they sound WONDERFUL compared to the factory unit.

I put a JVC 660 in my car (it is discontinued), $80 at Best Buy and WOW did is enhance the sound in my car.
I had it wired up and installed in 1/2 hour.
This is a great DIY Tech Help procedure!
 
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-27-2016, 08:33 PM
pizzaguy's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Age: 58
Posts: 9,241
Default Re: radio ignoring all controls

Originally Posted by grahammrobert View Post
Yup, 100% success. Thanks. Must be the cheapest/quickest fix ever? :-)
I"m pretty cheap and quick. It''s not always described as a positive thing............
 
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-24-2017, 07:17 AM
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Swindon
Age: 70
Posts: 5
Default Re: radio ignoring all controls

Worked for me. My FM 'disappeared' but now all is well
 
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-24-2017, 07:19 AM
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Swindon
Age: 70
Posts: 5
Talking Re: radio ignoring all controls

Worked for me. FM 'disappeared' but now all is well
 
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2017, 05:18 PM
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Placida, Florida
Age: 76
Posts: 1
Default Re: radio ignoring all controls

you guys are good, fixed my problem with radio thanks.
 
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2017, 08:16 PM
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 5
Default Re: radio ignoring all controls

I had that to happen after my car went in the shop... I pulled both radio fuses in the fuse box under the hood/bonnet, on the left side. Put them back and the radio rebooted and was fine again. /this was 6 months ago.
 
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2017, 10:07 PM
Padgett's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Orlando
Posts: 1,809
Default Re: radio ignoring all controls

We are very lucky, a Merc SLK of the same years with premium radio requires about $700 in "stuff" to add Bluetooth. Ours just need a $100 head unit and some $10 adapters from Amazon.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
cziggy
Troubleshooting & Technical & Modifications
1
05-28-2016 08:06 PM
rlhatchett
Parts/Accessories for sale
7
05-21-2016 02:18 PM
Thomas Lewellyn
Troubleshooting & Technical & Modifications
18
04-23-2016 01:09 PM
Pilot Paul
Engine, Exhaust, Transmission and Differential
8
04-19-2016 09:22 AM
MARK_UK
Troubleshooting & Technical & Modifications
11
11-28-2003 04:45 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: radio ignoring all controls


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.