Engine, Exhaust, Transmission and Differential Post questions here that have to do with the engine, cooling system, air intake, exhaust, Transmission and Differential

Oil change parts needed

Old 09-11-2009, 09:44 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil change parts needed

ALL,
I am a newcomer on the forums here, and also a recent owner of a 05 Crossfire Limited coupe, i have been doing some reading but i am still unclear on what i need to change the oil on my crossfire. any help would be appreciated, im a newbie to cars so im not sure if i should just buy the parts i need and take it to a benz/chrysler dealer and have them change it??

Old 09-11-2009, 09:56 AM
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: Oil change parts needed

Originally Posted by daniboy17
ALL,
I am a newcomer on the forums here, and also a recent owner of a 05 Crossfire Limited coupe, i have been doing some reading but i am still unclear on what i need to change the oil on my crossfire. any help would be appreciated, im a newbie to cars so im not sure if i should just buy the parts i need and take it to a benz/chrysler dealer and have them change it??
Welcome!

8.5 quarts of Mobil1 0W40 (Euro) oil and a fleece filter/kit. The filter is not your usual can type, it is installed on a spit arrangement from the top.

Use the search function and you will find plenty of threads on this subject.

Pleanty of them.

Most folks use a suction-type device to extract the oil through the dipstick tube. This is the way Mercedes will do it. Others do the normal jack it up and drain it. There is a replaceable washer/gasket if you go that route.

Do some reading and it will be clear!

www.slkworld.com has a great how-to section. Our cars are built on the R170 platform and these how-to's work for us.

Mostly.

Old 09-11-2009, 04:47 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

8.5 qts is only for the supercharged 3.2 litre engine. if your are n/a engine your looking at approx 6 qts.