Troubleshooting & Technical Questions & Modifications Have technical or modification questions about the Crossfire? Find out the answer, or give advice in here!

Valve Cover Gaskets + Oil Separator Reseal Repair Question from Newbie

Old 12-19-2013, 10:07 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Valve Cover Gaskets + Oil Separator Reseal Repair Question from Newbie

Hey guys,

New Crossfire (coupe, 2005, MT) owner here. I'm a total Crossfire newbie but I love it. Already getting tons of compliments.

I recently got it checked out by a mechanic post-purchase and was told that the valve cover gaskets, and oil separator needs to be resealed. He said that the dripping oil could ruin the starter and cause other larger problems down the road. Estimated cost around $400-$500 dollars.

Does the cost sound right to you guys? And is this a necessary repair? Sounds like it might be. For what it's worth, I have a state inspection coming in May that I'll need to pass.

I'd really appreciate any thoughts, thank you so much!

Old 12-19-2013, 10:22 AM
Received 153 Likes on 141 Posts
Default Re: Valve Cover Gaskets + Oil Separator Reseal Repair Question from Newbie

It IS a necessary repair, but a totally do-able DIY if you can turn a wrench at all.
Usually the rubber valve cover gaskets are OK, but are also cheap to replace if you are not sure.
The valve cover vents are the main leaking area, and are much easier to repair with new RTV if you remove the valve covers to do it.
( you can also clean everything up with gas while you have them off )
There is a stickey here somewhere about this DIY ......

Old 12-19-2013, 10:37 AM
Default Re: Valve Cover Gaskets + Oil Separator Reseal Repair Question from Newbie

Thank you for your response, AlA_Xfire. Ill try to locate the DIY article. If I ended up taking it to a mechanic, does the $400 - $500 repair estimate sound right to you? Mechanic said there was a decent amount of labor involved for everything.

Old 12-19-2013, 11:19 AM