U.K. Serving all countries of the United Kingdom.

2005 Roadster Auto Gear Shift Lagging

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2013, 05:28 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2005 Roadster Auto Gear Shift Lagging

Hi
I am new to the Crossfire Forum.
I was hoping to make the Blenheim Palace meet but circumstances got in the way (see earlier post)
I purchased a 2005 Roadster Auto in October 2012 - quite a rare one I think as it has all the Startech embellishments factory fitted from new. Sapphire Silver Blue - 32000 miles
At that time everything was working as it should (except heated seats - which i gather is not unusual for a Crossfire
After purchase in October put the car in the garage while off to Florida. Just got it back on the road in mid May and all seemed fine. However I have just noticed a problem with the gear stick indicator. When first engaging 'D' the car took a few seconds to move off (engine just revved and car did not move) I then noticed that the gear selection window in the instrument cluster lagged behind. For instance - put lever to 'D' from 'N' and noticed that the window remained showing 'N' about 5 seconds before showed 'D' During this 5 secs or so the gears remained disengaged.
This also happened when changing from 'R' to 'N' - 'R' remained in window for a few seconds.
As a rule I do not use the autostick sequential gears (tiptronic?) - just happy to jog along in auto mode. However a few days ago I gave it a go and it worked fine. Today it will not function. Tap the lever from side to side - just remains in 'D'
Once on the move all is fine - and even better now we finally have some weather in the UK to go topless. Just a bit worried that something more ominous is lurking. Have only done about 200 miles since buying the car and up to now had no indications that anything was wrong. I am now a bit worried that this 5 second lag may increase - visions of slipping it into drive at a traffic light and waiting for the 'D' to show!!