Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high. - CrossfireForum - The Chrysler Crossfire and SRT6 Resource


Crossfire Coupe A place to discuss Coupe specific topics.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-17-2009, 11:35 PM
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 193
Default Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

As said in the title. This code came up when i scanned when my check engine light was on. Has anyone had any experience with this code coming up? It would be much appreciated for any information and to see what others did about it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2009, 01:45 PM
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 193
Default Re: Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

soooo i am the only one ever to have this problem? wow thats amazing haha. anyone please want to help?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2009, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,053
Default Re: Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

Some people around here are slow to repond... but they will. I personally can not help you because I am not familiar with the codes. Sorry
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2009, 02:39 PM
Goldwing's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Holland MI
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

My daughter incurred a CEL on her Saturn when the seal around the gas filler cap would not seat right. If it doesn't, the car thinks there is a leak. I don't recall if there is a vacuum or pressure situation, but it requires a tight seal.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2009, 04:10 PM
MikeR's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Plains, OR
Age: 68
Posts: 5,173
Default Re: Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

Goldwing.... that sounds logical... I know that a loose gas cap will cause a CEL... but I havent seen anyone post the DTC for it....


MikeR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2009, 10:48 PM
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 193
Default Re: Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

from talking to my mechanic that ran the code it has something to do with one of my valves not letting out fumes or moisture from my tank as it is suppose to. i was told it wont bother anything until i have to take emissions. wierd that the code has not been brought up before. thank you for the responses. more insight would be great if there are any mechanics out there haha.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2009, 11:44 PM
onehundred80's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Caledon, Ontario
Age: 77
Posts: 19,139
Default Re: Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

Quote:
Originally Posted by makeithappen
As said in the title. This code came up when i scanned when my check engine light was on. Has anyone had any experience with this code coming up? It would be much appreciated for any information and to see what others did about it.
Reading the shop manual Evaporative Emissions section 25-15, it looks like the EVAP purge solenoid is not working and the excess pressure is discharged via the filler cap. This purging would be a cause to fail any emissions test as you know. The code is kept on record, hence the engine light stays on.
See page 25-15 for a diagram of the Evaporation Control system.

The following is the full description of this fault.
P0453 Evaporative Emission Control System Pressure Sensor High Input

I am no expert by any means but it is always interesting to look at possible causes of problems.

Last edited by onehundred80; 02-19-2009 at 11:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-21-2009, 11:51 AM
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 193
Default Re: Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

Thanks for looking into it. That is actually an explination i understand haha now i just need to find how to fix this.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-19-2010, 07:25 PM
pizzaguy's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: On The Cool Side of Cumming, GA
Age: 57
Posts: 8,391
Default Re: Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

Quote:
Originally Posted by makeithappen
Thanks for looking into it. That is actually an explination i understand haha now i just need to find how to fix this.
Well, I wonder what this guy ever did? Now I have the code!

Anyway, THIS LINK says to "use a scan tool access FTP sensor value with Key on Engine off (KOEO)".

I know I can buy an instrument to read the codes (and I am about to spend the money on one), but what Scan Tool can I buy to read the voltage at the sensor, using the connector??? I might just consider spending the money for that. The idea of clipping a DVM on some wires somewhere to monitor the voltage sounds a bit inconvenient.

Just noticed something... .HEY MODS, how 'bout moving this to a more appropriate forum?

Last edited by pizzaguy; 10-19-2010 at 07:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-19-2010, 08:01 PM
pizzaguy's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: On The Cool Side of Cumming, GA
Age: 57
Posts: 8,391
Default Re: Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pizzaguy
I know I can buy an instrument to read the codes (and I am about to spend the money on one), but what Scan Tool can I buy...
Forget it, just priced a DRB III - not gonna happen.

Besides, just got access to the wires to the sensor in the Top Compartment - wonder how hard this would have been in a Coupe?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10-19-2010, 11:03 PM
pizzaguy's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: On The Cool Side of Cumming, GA
Age: 57
Posts: 8,391
Default Re: Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

DAMN I'M GOOD! I think I fixed my car.

I started the car and measured 2.99 volts on the pressure sensor wire at the gas tank sending unit. But as I wiggled the connector, the voltage shot to 5.00, indicating my ground was going away OR the sensor was bad.

Taking the connector off, I saw it - terrible corrosion on the plug. I cleaned the plug and pins with alcohol and let the whole thing dry. NOW when I wiggle the connector, the 2.99 volts is steady as a rock.

I suspect that, after several "good trips", the light will go out and stay out.


BAD NEWS: Water causes corrosion. The only way water got in there was me. I've not been as careful when washing the car with the top down as I thought.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10-20-2010, 06:28 AM
awilson40's Avatar  
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Winterville, NC
Age: 58
Posts: 146
Default Re: Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

WOOT!!!!
Good troubleshooting !!! That is great news !!!

BTW, this is why I'm a firm believer in using Dielectric Grease on all connectors.

Last edited by awilson40; 10-20-2010 at 06:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10-20-2010, 08:02 AM
pizzaguy's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: On The Cool Side of Cumming, GA
Age: 57
Posts: 8,391
Default Re: Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

Quote:
Originally Posted by awilson40
WOOT!!!!
Good troubleshooting !!! That is great news !!!
A big thanks goes to you for pointing me to this thread, AND for THIS link:
P0453 DTC Evaporative Emissions Control System Pressure Sensor High Input

Together, I learned enough to understand the service manual a LOT better.


Quote:
BTW, this is why I'm a firm believer in using Dielectric Grease on all connectors.
We use it here at work a lot, kinda leaves me wondering why it wasn't used more in these cars.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-2017, 08:44 PM
HOT FIYA's Avatar
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Northern VA
Age: 31
Posts: 396
Default Re: Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

I am experiencing this code currently. I tried to delete it with my Ultragauge but unfortunately it's a hard-code and comes back immediately.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2017, 06:10 PM
HOT FIYA's Avatar
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Northern VA
Age: 31
Posts: 396
Default Re: Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

Going to troubleshoot with my buddy that's a former VW tech next weekend.


Is this the possible culprit that needs to be replaced?


https://www.napaonline.com/en/p/CRB2...earchIndex=App


https://www.napaonline.com/en/p/CRB2...earchIndex=App


Or perhaps this?


http://www.autozone.com/fuel-deliver...031_22737_4692

Last edited by HOT FIYA; 08-03-2017 at 06:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2017, 10:50 AM
HOT FIYA's Avatar
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Northern VA
Age: 31
Posts: 396
Default Re: Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

Did some troubleshooting this weekend and determined that the sensor is in fact reading high. I'm going to go ahead and order a new sending unit. Which one of these is the correct one? They look identical but have different part numbers.

https://www.rockauto.com/en/catalog/...ding+unit,4436
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2017, 02:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Knoxville
Age: 56
Posts: 1,083
Default Re: Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

Both numbers are correct. One is for export . Parts manual shows 4#s oddly enough. They changed the # after4/30/04 for ours an the export models. Wouldn't ours be an import..lol The one you have as added to cart is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2017, 02:54 PM
HOT FIYA's Avatar
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Northern VA
Age: 31
Posts: 396
Default Re: Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Jr View Post
Both numbers are correct. One is for export . Parts manual shows 4#s oddly enough. They changed the # after4/30/04 for ours an the export models. Wouldn't ours be an import..lol The one you have as added to cart is correct.

Thanks for the info - the part has been ordered! Finally going to get rid of this CEL so I can go do emissions and update my registration that's been dead since March....lol.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2017, 04:19 PM
HOT FIYA's Avatar
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Northern VA
Age: 31
Posts: 396
Default Re: Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

Replaced the fuel pump sending unit and cleared the code, low and behold the CEL returned shortly thereafter. So it's back to the drawing boards. I'm stumped at this point.


*Edit - I went ahead and ordered a new vapor canister purge valve/solenoid & gas cap.....process of elimination I guess.

Last edited by HOT FIYA; 09-01-2017 at 05:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2017, 07:25 PM
onehundred80's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Caledon, Ontario
Age: 77
Posts: 19,139
Default Re: Code P0453 Fuel tank pressure sensor/switch high.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HOT FIYA View Post
Replaced the fuel pump sending unit and cleared the code, low and behold the CEL returned shortly thereafter. So it's back to the drawing boards. I'm stumped at this point.


*Edit - I went ahead and ordered a new vapor canister purge valve/solenoid & gas cap.....process of elimination I guess.
My money is on the EVAP purge valve. Check the wire connectors to it.
In the service manual there is probably a method to check it out with a multimeter.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Crossfire got bombed today Valk Interior 12 01-16-2018 04:06 AM
$2,230 To Replace O2 Sensors? rampntlion Engine, Exhaust, Transmission and Differential 13 05-23-2017 01:17 PM
Code 3 65mm s/c pulley TOPLESS Parts/Accessories for sale 4 02-09-2016 12:28 PM
looking for OEM Radiator Overflow Tank paine2907 WTB - Items/Parts Wanted to Buy 8 10-02-2015 11:01 AM
oil pressure and the oil light lazorouss All Crossfires 5 09-11-2015 10:16 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:02 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.