Crossfire Coupe A place to discuss Coupe specific topics.

Transmission hesitates when shifting (Auto)

Old 12-10-2012, 03:03 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transmission hesitates when shifting (Auto)

I just purchased an 05 crossfire limited. Car has 76K miles.

I'm noticing that the car hesitates for a slight second when shifting into gears (2nd-3rd -4th etc). In addition, the car is starting to vibrate when idling. I assume the car needs new wires and spark plugs but I'm not certain thats the reason for the slight hesitation between the gears. The check engine light isn't on & from what I know, the transmission leak was previously fixed by the dealer (years ago). I don't know if the transmission is low on fluid. How do you check it?. . . . and if so what fluid do I use and how do I refill it.

I live in Orange County, California. I would appreciate the help and guidance for which I am new to german cars and I'm only 20 years young.

Thank you in advance,

John M.

Old 12-10-2012, 04:23 AM
Forum Regular
Default Re: Transmission hesitates when shifting (Auto)

Welcome to the club, purchasing a car like this is probably a better idea for someone that is more experienced in mechanics (no offence)
but fear not! This forum is full of people with a great knowledge base.

Last I checked the spark plugs are good for 100K miles. Transmission fluid could be gunked up need to be replaced. We need more info on your vehicle.
Auto or Manual?
As far as the vibration during idle I had the same issue in my '05 limited 6 speed which also caused the rpm's to spike between shifting and whenever the car went into neutral the rpm's would spike for a second then go to normal idle.

I inspected under the hood with the intake cover still on and I could hear some hissing. turned out the hose from the throttle body to one of the valve covers was worn out and had cracks in it. I went to Autozone and spent $2 for a foot of hose and haven't had the issue again.