Racing The place to talk about autocrossing, road and drag racing.

Tire Pressures for New Toy

Old 07-05-2007, 11:33 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tire Pressures for New Toy

Hello All,

I just recently bought my first Crossfire, a '05 alabaster white with an autostick and 5k miles. I love the car and am having a blast driving it on the street. The Crossfire replaces a 1995 LT-1 Corvette that I used mainly for autocross. While the Crossfire will be used mainly on the street, I can't totally give up Solo 2.

I've been autocrossing for 10 years or so and have had some success in a number of different classes although, mainly street tire classes (regional classes). I plan on running the Crossfire in D/Stock on street tires. In my region, it is a very underscribed class but I should have a few people to run against.

I'm running fairly new Hankook Ventus S1 Evos in the factory size,and everything is stock, including the alignment.

My question is, Would anyone like to hazard a guess on starting tire pressures?

Any other suggestions on set-up would be very welcome.

Bryan

Old 07-06-2007, 12:20 AM
Received 17 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Re: Tire Pressures for New Toy

Open the driver's door... right hand door sill where the striker is. Start from there -2 lbs.

Old 07-06-2007, 12:41 AM

Originally Posted by n2dafog
My question is, Would anyone like to hazard a guess on starting tire pressures? Any other suggestions on set-up would be very welcome.

Bryan
Congrats and welcome. There are three or four successful autocrossers who are active on this forum. If you use the search feature, you will find them quickly and easily, and I'll bet they will have some great advice. Good look.

Old 07-06-2007, 03:08 PM
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Hello All,