Wheels, Brakes, Tires and Suspension Open discussion for tires/rims/lowering springs/brakes etc...

New brakes grinding on new rotors

Old 07-09-2015, 10:35 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New brakes grinding on new rotors

Hello. I am by no means a mechanic but I have replaced the lower control arm bearings and several other parts on my crossfire. I have also done brakes on other cars with no issues. Anyways my issue is that my brakes are grinding on my rotors...I had just replaced the brakes and noticed the grinding so I ordered new rotors suspecting the badly scored rotors were to blame...anyways got them in and installed and drove it maybe 100 miles and the grinding noise has not disappeared. It is a fairly loud sound and when I jack up the car and turn the wheel it does not turn freely and the brakes clearly rub on the new rotors. Tried recompressing the piston and thag didnt work. When spinning the rotor you can see it wobble slightly..that is with the newly installed on and the old one and another spare I had not installed yet...thinking maybe the bearings might be causing the wobble I replaced the as well...still terrible grind. So...I dont know what to do..it wobbles and grinds and ive replaced everything I can think of except the hub and the bar the wheel spins on...also what is that called and could the bar be bent? Ive searched the forum and found nothing similair...some help would be appreciated..I hate handing money to the dealer

Old 07-09-2015, 11:11 PM
Received 79 Likes on 63 Posts
Default Re: New brakes grinding on new rotors

Could the noise come from the opposite axle you are working on? Once you compress the piston back in it's bore and before you press the brake pedal, is the wheel free to spin?

James

Old 07-09-2015, 11:16 PM
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Originally Posted by Roty135