All Crossfires A place to discuss any model of the Crossfire.

Is Crossfire still reliable after 100K?

Old 06-05-2012, 08:56 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Is Crossfire still reliable after 100K?

Hi, this is my first time posting in this forum...(I'm new)

I am a college student turning senior this september, and although I was able to live without a car for 3 years, I decided it would be better to have a car for my senior year.

My budget is limited, so the only sporty cars I could find under my budget were Mazda $X-8 (2004-2005 model), and Chrysler Crossfire (2004-2005 limited).

I was in love with RX8 first because it was more practical (4 seats + larger cargo space), but upon doing some research I realized the engine is relatively unreliable compared to other sports cars. I don't want to spend few thousand $$$$ just on repairs, I want a reliable car that doesn't give me any major problems for 10 months that I'm going to drive.

So I'm leaning towards Crossfire these days. I disliked the design at first, but more I look at it, better it looks. I especially like the rear design and the electric spoiler. I also like the fact that it is a 2 seater and has a decent amount of cargo space.

I've been looking at used car markets, autotrader and cars.com, and came across few Crossfires that were under my budget, but they all have high miles.

The lowest one I found was 89,000 miles for $8450, and my budget is around $7500 - $8500.
There is another crossfire with 110,000 miles for $7,000, but I am not sure if this one is going to be realiable.

I'm going to put less than 7,000 miles (just 10 months), and then I am going to sell it because I have to go back to Japan (yes i am an international student - no wonder my grammar sucks!) and I can't take the car with me.